The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 04-06-2017, 11:22 AM
dcx4610 dcx4610 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 48
POST ID # = 898291
dcx4610 Reputation: 10
Default

I just purchased the Polaris and I'm in the same boat. I was really disappointed when I locked the computer and saw the rainbow effect. Like others, when I step away from my PC, I lock it.

I don't want my room to be a riainbow show when my computer is locked and not in use. If anything, I want everything to be OFF. I also have the K70 keyboard and thankfully it has a light key which I press to turn off the LEDs. With the Polaris mouse pad, there doesn't seem to be any kind of solution.

As others mentioned, devices from other companies seem to have no problem turning off when you lock your computer but all of my Corsair problems go into a light show.

Can we please have a firmware update (even if it's optional) where the default light/LED state for the mouse pad is the LEDs turned off? That seems to be the easiest and most logical fix.

I know Corsair probably wants the consumer to see the mouse pad light up and go into rainbow mode when they first connect it for the wow factor but after the initial "that's cool" reaction, it turns to annoyance when you realize that's the default power state.

I love the mouse pad but it's almost not worth keeping for this very reason. Pleeeeease give us new firmware.

Last edited by dcx4610; 04-06-2017 at 11:25 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 04-07-2017, 11:11 AM
will1565 will1565 is offline
Registered User
will1565's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 898428
will1565 Reputation: 10
Default

Yep another Polaris owner here who would like the light show to stop, I have mine plugged into a powered hub so even if I turn my PC off its still going.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 04-10-2017, 08:13 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,772
POST ID # = 898752
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

I noticed that after a recent update there was a button in the middle of the top part of the MM800 screen, when I clicked it my MM800 went dark. I'll have a look when I get home from work and post some better info.

Edit: It turns out that it was the button to the left of "advanced" that shut the lights off.

Last edited by snapper69; 04-11-2017 at 10:18 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 04-12-2017, 02:40 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is online now
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,439
POST ID # = 899079
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Unfortunately Polaris doesn't have onboard storage to save lighting. Unlike our keyboards and mice, there is no possible way to "save" static lighting or even disable it. Let me see what I can do regarding having a FW that disables all LED by default for those of you who want this but by design, lighting on this pad is always on as long as there is power.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue

Last edited by Corsair James; 04-12-2017 at 02:46 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 05-20-2017, 07:41 PM
SpyVision SpyVision is offline
SpyVision
SpyVision's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 904128
SpyVision Reputation: 10
Default Release a Time-Out Feature!

Hi, I just bought the K95 Platinum and the MM800.. but I'm a quite disappointed there is no feature to auto-switch off the lights. Why can't you'll add a timer/timeout feature? Even if I put off my monitor the lights still stay on. I have to goto the CUE app and click the off feature everytime is quite annoying. I know it doesn't have any onboard memory, but so does the Razer Firefly. There synapse app has a feature for it to shut down while away (timeout) unlike CUE.
I feel people are going to be turning away after they realise this drawback.

Please release an update with this!
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 05-28-2017, 05:24 AM
IcEWoLF IcEWoLF is offline
Registered User
IcEWoLF's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 114
POST ID # = 905945
IcEWoLF Reputation: 10
Default

I've had this pad for a while, I did purchase the best buy replacement plan with it.
I am surprised they can't use their software to disable the lights, or switch the lights to a dark color automatically when locked.

I might just use my BB replacement plan to replace this and go with the Razer one which seems to be able to do this simple task.
Corsair dropped the ball big time with this pad, also the USB passover design was a huge fail because its huge, it should be low profile like the Razer so the cable doesn't keep tugging when moving the mouse. Its just an annoyance.
It seems like Corsair releases great stuff but the software end lacks big time.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 05-30-2017, 05:59 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,772
POST ID # = 906177
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

A couple of weeks ago, I deleted the default profile for my Polaris from Cue and replaced it with my own, which just lit it up in blue and made that the default. I tend to leave my computer on 24/7 so I never thought any more about it, until yesterday. I went to check some temps in Link and noticed that Link wasn't running, neither was CUE. I used Task Manager to check that Cue wasn't running in the background, but I couldn't find any sign of it. How is this possible?
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 07-06-2017, 11:57 AM
0nikas 0nikas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 910518
0nikas Reputation: 10
Default

Has there been any update to this problem? I just bought one and can't believe there isn't an option to just turn off the lighting when in lock or sleep. Very disappointed as it's a really nice mouse pad otherwise. I'm likely going to return it because of this.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 07-07-2017, 11:22 AM
snoops snoops is offline
Registered User
snoops's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 910624
snoops Reputation: 10
Default

@Corsair James any progress on a possible firmware update for this issue?
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 07-13-2017, 06:40 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,791
POST ID # = 911580
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0nikas View Post
sleep
It should be off in sleep unless you have it plugged into a port that supplies power for charging devices when the system is sleeping or off ;) ;) ...
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 07-14-2017, 01:22 PM
zoglog zoglog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 911697
zoglog Reputation: 10
Default

Agree with the rest. When my computer shut off The mat starts going in spiral rainbow hell making it difficult to sleep. Having to unplug the mouse mat every night is kind of annoying.

If we had a choice we'd rather have it off than perpetually on anytime it receives power.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 08-02-2017, 07:38 PM
andrewdoc21 andrewdoc21 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 914363
andrewdoc21 Reputation: 10
Default

what ive had to do with mine is turn the brightness all the way down to off before locking. that does the trick. but its annoying to have to do that.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 08-03-2017, 01:31 PM
yuppicide yuppicide is offline
Registered User
yuppicide's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 148
POST ID # = 914447
yuppicide Reputation: 10
Default

Did they ever release a fix for having the lights off when your computer is locked?

I have problems with my mouse and need to go get a replacement today. I figured while I am out I might as well pick up a hard mouse surface. I hear once you switch to hard you never go back.

I would just get the Logitech surface, but it's bigger than my keyboard tray.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 08-03-2017, 04:53 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
βetα Nayn Cat
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,322
POST ID # = 914481
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yuppicide View Post
Did they ever release a fix for having the lights off when your computer is locked?

I have problems with my mouse and need to go get a replacement today. I figured while I am out I might as well pick up a hard mouse surface. I hear once you switch to hard you never go back.

I would just get the Logitech surface, but it's bigger than my keyboard tray.
they have not becuase they can not due to hardware limitations.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 05-08-2018, 10:17 AM
MaxiBerdy MaxiBerdy is offline
Registered User
MaxiBerdy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 953778
MaxiBerdy Reputation: 10
Sigh.. Still looking for this

Hey there, I am still looking for a fix to this problem.. I would love to be able, for exemple a static color thats stays on when CUE is not opened... Or even shut down the mouse pad lightning.
A FW patch could be a good solution, so i'm looking for your answer @CorsairJames !
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.