The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2019, 11:31 PM
AVGeek99 AVGeek99 is offline
Registered User
AVGeek99's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1005314
AVGeek99 Reputation: 10
Default HX1000i PSU with H100i Pro RGB Connections and iCue

I built a new PC a few months ago and installed a H100i Pro RGB water cooler. It's worked great and I really like the iCue monitoring software.

This week my ancient Antec PSU died so I replaced it with the HX1000i PSU from Corsair. I chose the HX1000i so I could control it with iCue.

PSU arrived today and I got installed and works great, but I can't figure out how to get the Corsair Digital Link connected. The PSU came with a USB connector and and a separate Digital link cable I've determined to be an IC2 cable.

The USB cable is the easy install method but I don't have any spare USB headers on my motherboard, the one I have is taken by the H100i Pro RGB water cooler. I searched all over and it appears I am supposed to be able to connect the IC2 digital link cable directly from the PSU to the water cooler. I can see where the one end plugs into PSU, but I don't see any place on the H100i Pro RGB to connect the other end to.

All the pages I've found that say to connect the PSU to the water cooler specifically reference the H100i. Does the H100i Pro RGB not have the IC2 connector? If not, what are my options to get both the PSU and water cooler connected to iCue?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-23-2019, 05:47 PM
Corsair Notepad Corsair Notepad is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Notepad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 243
POST ID # = 1005507
Corsair Notepad Reputation: 10
Default

Either way you will need a USB header in order to monitor the PSU. the IC2 cable then goes into another adapter that terminates to an internal USB 2.0 header.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-23-2019, 06:08 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,999
POST ID # = 1005510
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

It references the original H100i. Not the H100i GTX, H100i V2, H100i Pro, H100i Platinum or H100i Platinum SE. I might have missed an H100i in there too. Not that the naming is confusing or anything.

If you get 5 pin internal USB extension cables, you can put them both on the same header as they only use a single port on the 2 port header. You just need to be really careful to line up the cables correctly.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-23-2019, 08:46 PM
AVGeek99 AVGeek99 is offline
Registered User
AVGeek99's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1005523
AVGeek99 Reputation: 10
Default Will iCue work with this?

Would iCue recognize devices connected through this?

https://www.newegg.com/black-en-labs...3841-_-Product
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-23-2019, 09:13 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,999
POST ID # = 1005526
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

I'd be cautious with that as its unpowered. You might have issues with certain devices. The PSU and cooler should be OK though. You might have difficulty with power to anything you might have on, say, the front panel.

I've used something like this https://www.newegg.com/black-tekit-5...1W7-000K-00010 to put my cooler and PSU on the same header. The NZXT internal hub is also powered.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-24-2019, 01:36 AM
AVGeek99 AVGeek99 is offline
Registered User
AVGeek99's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1005548
AVGeek99 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
I'd be cautious with that as its unpowered. You might have issues with certain devices. The PSU and cooler should be OK though. You might have difficulty with power to anything you might have on, say, the front panel.

I've used something like this https://www.newegg.com/black-tekit-5...1W7-000K-00010 to put my cooler and PSU on the same header. The NZXT internal hub is also powered.
Thanks for the advice. I read some reviews on the 1-4 splitter and they seem pretty mixed. Lotta people don't have any issues, but others have intermittent issues or worse. One review sounded like someone doing exactly what I'm trying to do and he had intermittent disconnect issues. He ended up going with the NZXT and haven't had any issues. I ordered the NZXT, should be here by Saturday.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-06-2019, 08:29 AM
Yemble Yemble is offline
Registered User
Yemble's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Yorkshire (GOC)
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 1007121
Yemble Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AVGeek99 View Post
Would iCue recognize devices connected through this?

https://www.newegg.com/black-en-labs...3841-_-Product
There are some pretty cheap internal USB 2-way port splitters on eBay. I use one to connect my HX850i PSU and H115i AIO to iCUE via a single mobo port. Mine is similar to the one below and it works perfectly...

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Motherboa...YAAOSwH2VaAC7r
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
hx1000i, icue, install

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.