The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2013, 06:24 AM
mjgr33n mjgr33n is offline
Registered User
mjgr33n's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 664148
mjgr33n Reputation: 10
Default Carbide Air 540 Radiator Compatibility

I have read numerous threads on here and elsewhere about what fits and does not in this case but still a little unsure and would like to figure a few things out space wise in the case before ordering :)

I am currently using an Obsidian 800D Case with TFC Exchange 360 Radiator 62mm Thickness and Hardware Labs Black Ice SR1 120 54mm Thickness, I also have a spare Hardware Labs Black Ice GTX140 54mm Thickness on my shelves, just needs a good clean.

But the problem I find is my 800D is a beast and bulky, the Air 540 is less bulky even though it is wider and has more radiator points. And looks easier to move. A 900D would be awesome but is even bigger :P

My plan was to transfer the 360 Radiator into the Air 540 at the front and get a 280 or 240 radiator for the top, I doubt I would fit the 120 or 140 on the rear with such unless I mounted it on the back of the case but possible with some creative holes at the back.

But given what I have read and my 360 radiator is 62mm I am worried it would fit with 280 or 240 radiator, as I have only seen comments given using a 280mm radiator at the front.

So would a 62mm 360 radiator with fans fit inside the front with 280 or 240 radiator with fans at the top or would I need to mount fans on the outside for the 360 radiator and potentially for the 280/240? And what size 280/240 radiator would fit in both cases? 54mm or 31mm?

I may just get it anyway as a project case but it would be nice to plan ahead before doing so :)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 07-15-2013, 03:29 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 665039
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

60mm think for the top radiator (with 1 set of 25mm thick 120mm fan, no push-pull configuration), you can fit a 60mm thick radiator in the front too, but not both at the same time. the top corners of both radiator will collide.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 07-17-2013, 07:04 AM
mjgr33n mjgr33n is offline
Registered User
mjgr33n's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 665309
mjgr33n Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks, I have ordered the Case.

What size of radiator would I be able to fit at the top of the case if I used my 360x120x62mm radiator at the front plus fans, both internally? A thin 280 or a thick 240?

Or would it be better to get a couple of Hardware Labs Black ICE Radiator SR1 280 at 55mm depth or 1 Hardware Labs Black ICE Radiator SR1 280 plus a Hardware Labs Black ICE Radiator GT Stealth 280 at 31mm depth?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 07-23-2013, 08:47 AM
TaLL0s TaLL0s is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 666308
TaLL0s Reputation: 10
Default

Hello,

I would like to ask in this topic about radiotors.

Can i use radiator 1x280 (338x145x60 mm) + one set of fans on top and at the same time thin radiator 1x360 (390 x 120x 29 mm) + one set of fans on front with dust filter ?

My MB: Asus Maximus V Formula
Graphics card length is around 25 cm.

I would like to know those informations before i will make order.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 07-23-2013, 10:49 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 666323
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

TaLLos,

Unfortunately you can't use both, there's not enough clearance for the top corners of the radiators.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 07-23-2013, 03:03 PM
TaLL0s TaLL0s is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 666372
TaLL0s Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for your response.

I thought one thick and one thin radiator will fit. I will look for another solution.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 07-24-2013, 02:00 PM
mjgr33n mjgr33n is offline
Registered User
mjgr33n's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 666543
mjgr33n Reputation: 10
Default

In the end I used an Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 Full Copper 360mm at the front with the fans on the outside and at the top i used an Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 240mm with fans inside, close fit but is looking good so far, will post some pictures once it is done :) Be aware you need to use angled connectors at the bottom with the front 360mm radiator.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 07-26-2013, 09:38 AM
mjgr33n mjgr33n is offline
Registered User
mjgr33n's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 666887
mjgr33n Reputation: 10
Default

And you can use EK Extenders with compression fittings as well with a 360 at the bottom and it just fits instead of using the angled ones :)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 07-26-2013, 02:01 PM
mjgr33n mjgr33n is offline
Registered User
mjgr33n's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 666953
mjgr33n Reputation: 10
Default

Some early pictures of the build I am doing, not got the motherboard blocks yet but at least you can see what fits etc.

Love how you can make it so tidy at the front, messy at the rear compartment, but lots of cables in there :P

Have cut out a hole in the top back part of the rear compartment so I could fit the combo Reservoir/D5 Pump unit and also I liked the idea of keeping the reservoir higher than the the radiators for once :P

Got orange UV tubing and orange coolant to put in once the motherboard block arrives, also need to put the Corsair Link commander and cooling nodes in from my older pc.





And my old 800D build.

Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 08-11-2013, 11:53 AM
filmklub filmklub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 669494
filmklub Reputation: 10
Default

hi mate, i need to know if the ut60 rad in the front will fit with the fittings at the top? did you try this at all? many thnx!!
rick
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 08-13-2013, 03:24 AM
mjgr33n mjgr33n is offline
Registered User
mjgr33n's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 669682
mjgr33n Reputation: 10
Default

No it does not fit with fittings at the top.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 08-13-2013, 09:14 AM
filmklub filmklub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 669721
filmklub Reputation: 10
Default

thanks! great help!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 02-26-2014, 10:41 AM
cornroll cornroll is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 699216
cornroll Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjgr33n View Post
Some early pictures of the build I am doing, not got the motherboard blocks yet but at least you can see what fits etc.

Love how you can make it so tidy at the front, messy at the rear compartment, but lots of cables in there :P

Have cut out a hole in the top back part of the rear compartment so I could fit the combo Reservoir/D5 Pump unit and also I liked the idea of keeping the reservoir higher than the the radiators for once :P

Got orange UV tubing and orange coolant to put in once the motherboard block arrives, also need to put the Corsair Link commander and cooling nodes in from my older pc.





And my old 800D build.

From your first photo it seems that you are using the alphacool ut45 for your top radiator, am I right?

Seems like a pretty tight fit already.

Can anyone tell me if its possible to fit an EK XTX240 (64mm) rad with a single set of fans?

RAM Guy mentioned that it's possible for a 60mm think for the top radiator (with 1 set of 25mm thick 120mm fan, no push-pull configuration) but it seems a bit unlikely given the first photo!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.