The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 04-23-2012, 06:56 PM
t53186 t53186 is offline
Registered User
t53186's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waukesha, WI USA
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 574140
t53186 Reputation: 10
Default

I spin my four PWN fans down to 350rpm at idle which is quiet and probably not needed since the H80 is sucking a good amount of air through the case also. I have an older Intel 975XBX board that has an intel utility which does exactly what you are talking about, below a temp threshold the fans stop and restart when it gets warm enough. Cool (pardon the pun) idea.

Now with my four fans spun down to 350 the only noise I hear is the H80 pump as the H80 fan goes down to 800 when idle.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #17  
Old 04-28-2012, 08:05 AM
MrFizzbin MrFizzbin is offline
Registered User
MrFizzbin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 137
POST ID # = 575182
MrFizzbin Reputation: 10
Default

To anyone out there that state their Link works flawlessly ...
Does it monitor correctly your hard drive temps? Not an initial start-up snap shot, but an ongoing monitoring of any changes? I cannot understand why mine are not being monitored despite having the latest firmware. These aren't exotic hard drives mind you. Nothing is in Raid .. a pretty plain setup. I'd expect maybe one or two wouldn't be captured, but all of them? I mean, there's even a Corsair Force GT in there for crying out loud! : 1 x WD 1TB WD1001FALS, 2 x WD 1TB WDCWD1002FAEX, 1 x 250 GB Seagate ST3250620AS, 1 x 120 GB Corsair SSD Force GT and 1 x 64 GB Kingston SV200S364G
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #18  
Old 04-28-2012, 10:36 AM
hudsonCAD hudsonCAD is offline
Registered User
hudsonCAD's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 575202
hudsonCAD Reputation: 10
Default

I don't monitor my HDD temps. I have a Corsair SSD, but don't care what temperature it is.

I also haven't loaded the software for some time, as it works fine without it.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #19  
Old 04-28-2012, 06:53 PM
MrFizzbin MrFizzbin is offline
Registered User
MrFizzbin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 137
POST ID # = 575289
MrFizzbin Reputation: 10
Default

hudsonCAD... does it register your HD temperature changes on the fly? I'm questioning if it works for anyone at all.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #20  
Old 04-28-2012, 07:12 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,998
POST ID # = 575292
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFizzbin View Post
To anyone out there that state their Link works flawlessly ...
Does it monitor correctly your hard drive temps? Not an initial start-up snap shot, but an ongoing monitoring of any changes? I cannot understand why mine are not being monitored despite having the latest firmware. These aren't exotic hard drives mind you. Nothing is in Raid .. a pretty plain setup. I'd expect maybe one or two wouldn't be captured, but all of them? I mean, there's even a Corsair Force GT in there for crying out loud! : 1 x WD 1TB WD1001FALS, 2 x WD 1TB WDCWD1002FAEX, 1 x 250 GB Seagate ST3250620AS, 1 x 120 GB Corsair SSD Force GT and 1 x 64 GB ******** SV200S364G
The Force GT doesn't have a temperature sensor. Maybe the others don't as well.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #21  
Old 04-29-2012, 07:56 AM
t53186 t53186 is offline
Registered User
t53186's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waukesha, WI USA
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 575355
t53186 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFizzbin View Post
To anyone out there that state their Link works flawlessly ...
Does it monitor correctly your hard drive temps? Not an initial start-up snap shot, but an ongoing monitoring of any changes? I cannot understand why mine are not being monitored despite having the latest firmware. These aren't exotic hard drives mind you. Nothing is in Raid .. a pretty plain setup. I'd expect maybe one or two wouldn't be captured, but all of them? I mean, there's even a Corsair Force GT in there for crying out loud! : 1 x WD 1TB WD1001FALS, 2 x WD 1TB WDCWD1002FAEX, 1 x 250 GB Seagate ST3250620AS, 1 x 120 GB Corsair SSD Force GT and 1 x 64 GB ******** SV200S364G
Just curious, have you tried using speedfan to monitor your hard drives. It is possible your temp data may not be accessible by any program depending on the motherboard architecture, chipset, and drivers.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #22  
Old 05-07-2012, 09:20 AM
MrFizzbin MrFizzbin is offline
Registered User
MrFizzbin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 137
POST ID # = 576867
MrFizzbin Reputation: 10
Default

No .. It is not a chipset, motherboard architecture or driver issue from what I can see. case in point:
A> I have 3 WD drives. All are fairly recent models, still being sold. WD states on their site:
"..Every WD EIDE and Serial ATA hard drive has an internal temperature sensor located inside the drive casing .."

B> I tried an application call Hard Disk Sentinel: It monitors all of my drives' temps on the fly.

So, it's safe to say that the issue is not at my end, but with Link.... *sigh* Right now, as it stands, this was a BADDD purchase ... I'm hoping firmware and software updates will turn things around, because this unit has not delivered so far.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #23  
Old 05-07-2012, 04:28 PM
t53186 t53186 is offline
Registered User
t53186's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waukesha, WI USA
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 576946
t53186 Reputation: 10
Default

What I found with my hardware.

If I load WIN7 x64 with bios set to AHCI all temps are displayed in corsair link gui.

If I load WIN7 x64 with bios set to raid and have my SSD non raid with 4 WD drives in raid 10 no temperatures are displayed in the corsair link gui.

If I use speedfan which should be able to read all disks S.M.A.R.T. details and temps I get no reading when using raid.

Hard disk sentinal does not read any temperature sensors on the four drives.

The only reason I suggested chipset, etc was I observed changing symptoms and had to try various configurations to really understand what was happening with my hardware.

I hope the concerns you have get addressed.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #24  
Old 05-07-2012, 06:50 PM
MrFizzbin MrFizzbin is offline
Registered User
MrFizzbin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 137
POST ID # = 576976
MrFizzbin Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the info t53186. I hope Corsair uses your examples to further develop the Link. When you say "If I load WIN7 x64 with bios set to AHCI all temps are displayed in corsair link gui" do you get ongoing temperature readings, or just an initial snapshot?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #25  
Old 05-07-2012, 10:02 PM
t53186 t53186 is offline
Registered User
t53186's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waukesha, WI USA
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 576997
t53186 Reputation: 10
Default

Well, I can't honestly say. My desire was to get the SSD running in AHCI and the HD's in RAID 10. When I got that working, no more HD temps, so I did not leave the system in ACHI long enough for a thorough analysis of hd temps but I did see them flucuate when adjusting fan profiles.

Right now, no HD temps and I'm lucky to have a somewhat stable control of 5 fans. 4PWM fans for the case and the H80 fan all plugged into the fan control module.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.