Corsair Community

XMP with Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB + Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4

socialwaif

I was looking to make use of the XMP profile setting on my Corsair Vengeance LED RAM. It is model number CMU32GX4M4C3000C15B. Listed as DDR4 3000. It is currently running at a lower, default speed. Around 2132 (1066 MHz) according to CPUID.

I am new to this. What all do I have to do to make use of the higher speeds through XMP? I could use some help or a simple "How-To" style Walkthrough as to what to expect. Do I just turn on or enable the XMP profile? Or are there other settings, like voltages, that need to be changed as well?

My CPU is a Haswell-E, Intel® Core i7-5820K CPU @ 3.30GHz. My motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4.

Yes, you just "turn on" the XMP setting in your BIOS. What this looks like is different for each manufacturer. When you do that, the BIOS will change some settings automatically in accordance with the information on the module (timings, DRAM voltage). Other settings will be changed automatically in accordance with your BIOS programming. Some of these might include System Agent voltage (SA or VCCSA) and the strap or Base Clock (BCLK).

The system should boot on its own with these settings, but like most one-click overclocks, it usually possible to refine the settings to more desirable levels. System agent voltage is often over-boosted, however the one of the most immediate interest may be your base clock or strap. 125 is the natural multiplier for 3000 MHz memory frequency. When you at that setting, you will loose your adaptive voltage and it will run at a fixed level. Some BIOS systems allow you manually set it back to 100, while retaining the 3000 DRAM frequency. Others will not and XMP locks most other settings. I would need your exact board to know, but someone else may have it. For now, you can enable XMP, boot, and observe.