The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Questions (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=129)
-   -   Epp? (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/showthread.php?t=67194)

marc_77777 02-28-2008 10:15 AM

Epp?
 
I called Corsair yesterday concerning a question I had about the memory I just purchased. The person on the phone told me the memory I bought (TWINX 2048MB PC6400 C4) is not SLI/EPP. I found on the Corsair site where it says it is epp, as well on my receipt it says it is epp. So my question is: is it epp or not and do I enable sli in the bios?

thanks
Marc

eFix 02-28-2008 10:37 AM

hi there! i was wondering too, it is so weird.

i bought 2x XMS2 CM2X1024-6400C4 (4 x 1 GB ram) and 3/4 HAVE epp and 1 stick doesnt, everest told me (?!).

same in bios, if i run with 2 sticks (epp) i can activate the -sli ready memory- function.. if i run with the stick that has no epp, i cant.. make sense.. (but why?!)

and if its important, i noticed that the ram with no epp has a different product name (part name) than the other 3:

DIMM1: Corsair XMS2 CM2X1024-6400C (no epp)
DIMM2: Corsair XMS2 CM2X1024-6400C4 (epp)
DIMM3: Corsair XMS2 CM2X1024-6400C4 (epp)
DIMM4: Corsair XMS2 CM2X1024-6400C4 (epp)

im excited what is the answer and sorry for my bad english. greetings :sigh!:

Wired 02-28-2008 10:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by marc_77777 (Post 333480)
I called Corsair yesterday concerning a question I had about the memory I just purchased. The person on the phone told me the memory I bought (TWINX 2048MB PC6400 C4) is not SLI/EPP. I found on the Corsair site where it says it is epp

http://www2.corsair.com/_datasheets/T...048-6400C4.pdf

This does not say it's EPP, however, a press release from 2 years ago says it will:
http://www.corsair.com/news/press_re...aspx?id=147110

marc_77777 02-28-2008 11:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wired (Post 333484)
http://www2.corsair.com/_datasheets/T...048-6400C4.pdf

This does not say it's EPP, however, a press release from 2 years ago says it will:
http://www.corsair.com/news/press_re...aspx?id=147110

That's exactly what i was refering to on their site.

eFix 02-28-2008 12:25 PM

huh :confused: i bought rams a week ago and in the sale it reads there is EPP available. ugly..

Wired 02-28-2008 12:38 PM

LOL, how about just waiting for Ram Guy to get into work and read the thread :)

marc_77777 02-28-2008 01:27 PM

Well i decided not to wait for the Ram Guy, I called Corsair back and apparently this memory does NOT have epp, however, the person explained to me the advantages of epp. Epp is basically for people who do not know how to set the memory voltage and timings in their bios, however, for those that do this is not a problem and makes no performance difference (At least that is what i understood). If i'm wrong maybe someone could correct me. I still don't know why it is listed as epp memory in some places and not in others???

Wired 02-28-2008 03:05 PM

Correct, no performance difference at all. It's sort of like advanced SPD info.

eFix 02-28-2008 06:22 PM

ok i can live without EPP :laughing:
should i change timings by hand that EPP shows?

greetings

Quote:

Memory Module Properties
Module Name Corsair XMS2 CM2X1024-6400C4
Serial Number None
Manufacture Date Week 23 / 2006
Module Size 1024 MB (2 ranks, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered DIMM
Memory Type DDR2 SDRAM
Memory Speed DDR2-800 (400 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 1.8
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

Memory Timings
@ 400 MHz 5-5-5-18 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 22-42-3-6-3 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR)
@ 270 MHz 4-4-4-13 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 15-29-3-5-3 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR)

Enhanced Performance Profile
Profile Name High Performance
Optimal Performance Profile Yes
Memory Speed DDR2-800 (400 MHz)
Voltage 2.1 V
Memory Timings 4-4-4-12 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Row Cycle Time (tRC) 22T
Command Rate (CR) 2T
Write Recovery Time (tWR) 6T

DerekT 02-28-2008 06:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eFix (Post 333569)
ok i can live without EPP :laughing:
should i change timings by hand that EPP shows?

You should indeed. :)

RAM GUY 02-28-2008 07:51 PM

Yes I agree set them manually but with 4 modules EPP might not be detected and I would suggest setting the memory frequency at DDR667.

eFix 02-29-2008 02:17 PM

i tryed with 2 modules too. epp profile can be enabled with the 2 rams but with the others it cant :(: however.. thanks anyways! greetz efx.

RAM GUY 02-29-2008 04:21 PM

We can replace that set if you like, please use the On Line RMA Request Form and we will be happy to replace them.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.