The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/index.php)
-   CORSAIR ONE (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=278)
-   -   Dreaded Lack of Display Problem (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/showthread.php?t=172501)

soulfirer 11-20-2017 12:54 PM

Dreaded Lack of Display Problem
 
I did read about the known issue with a batch (LOT numbers) of Corsair One machines giving display issues, but given I was ordering direct from Corsair, and that I was placing an order well after the issue had been identified, I did not think it applied to myself.

I opened the box, and probably like many others was stunned at the design and compactness of the build. What a superb looking unit.

I used HDMI to connect to a monitor, and initially it did boot up... but then reverted to 'no display'.

With some great information in other posts on this forum, I rebooted (several times) and ran through the suggested fixes, ironically all except the Gen2 one, and then thought to check the lot number on the side of the box.
Sadly I think it appears to fall within the rogue batch of LOT numbers one of the mods posted.
LOT on mine was 17305105

Not been able to get it to boot again, so unable to try Gen2 in BIOS.

Logged a ticket, and hopefully CORSAIR support will sort it out for me.

WAYYY too much money for this not to work right.
some advice - check the LOT number as soon as your parcel arrives. It's printed on a side sticker on the cardboard box.

I will update this post with the outcome, so others can benefit from my experience here.

cheers all

Corsair Alan 11-20-2017 08:46 PM

Sorry to hear you got a faulty unit, can you PM me your ticket number and I will have customer service process you right away. I'll look in to why this is still an issue.

MrPace 11-21-2017 01:53 AM

Have the affected lot numbers been posted anywhere online?

soulfirer 11-22-2017 07:30 PM

According to a Corsair mod

If it's a lot code from 1725 to 1731, it's affected. If it's from before 1725, it won't have the issue.

Thank you to Corsair rep looking for ticket number. I will look this up and post separately.

A little update from me.

So after not booting at all, the next morning my Ti did boot, and I was able to get into the BIOS, search for DMI, and change to GEN2.

This then let me test the HTC Vive VR I have, by plugging the HTMI and usb directly into the front ports, with the C1 connecting to a 1080 TV via the rear HDMI.
Not without problems, sometimes again went blank via that rear HDMI, but after a few reboots seemed to settle.
Blank screened during Steam VR test first time, then seemed to settle.

Gave a top Steam VR of 11 as you would expect, and VR worked a charm..... except my Vive has a faulty controller and needs sent back.... not having best of luck.

I am a little undecided whether to RTM at moment, it seems ok under GEN2, just whether that rear HDMI is going to cause problems. Maybe I should buy a decent monitor and DP it, given the C1 power.

VR running flawlessly non overclocked, (with one controller only sadly), even supersampled to 2.0.

These are nice machines.
I am lucky this one is very quiet. Corsair link shows temps ok also.

Corsair Mods- for an Return, do you send out replacement unit at same time?
How long would I be without PC?
Need it for my business.

Kevin

soulfirer 11-22-2017 07:35 PM

Corsair Alan...
Ticket number 647192

Kevin

Noahkai 11-22-2017 07:49 PM

I JUST BOUGHT IT FROM NEWEGG, I am not sure should I return it or not after I found there have soooo many ppl have the same issue......

soulfirer 11-25-2017 05:05 PM

Corsair Alan,

Care to reply?

zguy85 11-25-2017 05:15 PM

I have PN: CS-9000007-NA SN: 000417165103 RCS0003
am I affected by this Corsair?

zguy85 11-25-2017 11:24 PM

So had a display problem where wouldn't work, only on HDMI. I went on youtube and the solution was this.

Unplug your C1 and Monitor from their power outlets. Wait 30 seconds. plug them back in. Done Fixed. I couldn't believe it was that simple. Certain monitors must save certain internal settings.

soulfirer 11-26-2017 12:07 PM

Wow! Glad your solution was so simple.
Given how often I reboot mine, sometimes waiting up to 2 minutes, you fix sadly did not appear to work for me initially.

What display problem did you have?
Do you mean you got no display on DP and had to use HDMI until you fixed?

I do not have a DP monitor source yet, so had to use HDMI.

Thanks for comment though!

Corsair Alan 11-27-2017 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zguy85 (Post 927745)
I have PN: CS-9000007-NA SN: 000417165103 RCS0003
am I affected by this Corsair?

If you are experiencing issues with your unit then please send it in for repair.

Corsair Alan 11-27-2017 06:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by soulfirer (Post 927744)
Corsair Alan,

Care to reply?

I'm having a rep take care of your ticket. He should be arranging something for you. We're sorry to hear you are experiencing issues with your unit.
Turn around time is usually 1 week if you're in NA.

soulfirer 12-05-2017 08:46 AM

Fair play to Corsair,
They have been in touch to try and resolve my issue.

They have suggested an RMA, which given a faulty component in my unit is fair, however timing not great.

While turn around in North America may only be 1 week, here in Europe (scotland) I suspect it will take longer.

Given one reason it was bought, was to leverage and enjoy the HTC Vive VR for me and family this Xmas, I donít want to lose/replace at this point.

My unit seems more stable since I changed to Gen2, disabled some other settings listed in other threads.
It runs VR fine.

However. There still seems to be a question mark on a few issues:

1. Does not always boot properly from cold, especially using rear HDMI port. Often have to restart PC couple of times before working as expected.
2. Donít (yet) have a DP connected monitor to confirm if this issue also relates to rear display ports.
3. Unit has reboot itself in middle of VR game... once. Unsure what caused this. All temps seem ok.
Unit not overclocked or boosted.

Think at this point I will email support to advise I will monitor over Xmas period.
If still issue post Xmas, may discuss RMA.

I have read about units being returned and not fixed, donít want to go there.

These issues aside, what a cracking little gaming PC Corsair have built.
Impressive.

Kevin

Corsair Dustin 12-05-2017 12:58 PM

Honestly it may be in your best interests to bite the bullet and go through with the RMA rather than suffer through a series of compromises. We should be able to do an advance RMA for you so you're never actually without a system.

soulfirer 12-11-2017 05:11 PM

Thanks Dustin.

Corsair support have been in touch, are happy to wait and see how it goes, and have been fair to be honest.

I donít like the sound of it being away for a long time,
Not do I like some of the forum feedback saying they got it back and still had same issues.

Normally I would open up to investigate, but I dare not invalidate warranty at this cost!!

So today l, after running no issues for 3 dayís, it rebooted in middle of my work, no warning. Lost quite a bit of time.

It then refused to boot for around 10 mins, and c 20 tries.

Eventually it came back via the rear HDMI, but at minimum resolution.
No use to anyone.

It would not respond to the front (native) HDMI, which is a first!!
It then Grey screened. Never seen that before.

I switched away from my DVID connected old monitor to a large screen TV on front HDMI, and managed to get picture back.

It has been running ok since, but I think you are right.
It is not 100%!!
Shame. Very quiet and powerful while working, but I do not trust it fully now.

Monitoring continues for now. I may take you up on that advance replacement soon though....


Kevin
(Scotland UK)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.