The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2009, 08:53 PM
cgxps cgxps is offline
Registered User
cgxps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 406742
cgxps Reputation: 10
Default HX620W vs. Dell Studio XPS 435MT

I installed my new hx620w in my xps435mt and it wont start after I pluged everything(the 24pin, 8pin, 4850 pci-e and 3 sata cables...just like the original psu...). The only thing that I see when I push on the power button is a quick yellowish light and if I look inside the case I see another yellowish light that blink slowly and the psu fan doesnt spin. A technician where I bought the new psu tested the hx620w and it worked fine(on a other computer). My old psu still work A1. so, is there anything special I should know about installing my new hx620 in the 435MT?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2009, 11:16 PM
cgxps cgxps is offline
Registered User
cgxps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 406963
cgxps Reputation: 10
Default

Anybody, any idea? :(
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2009, 06:49 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 407244
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would contact Dell to make sure their system can take off the shelf ATX PSU that is ATX v2.01 or newer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-08-2009, 03:42 PM
cgxps cgxps is offline
Registered User
cgxps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 407392
cgxps Reputation: 10
Default

Thats the answer I got after I asked them: "We do not test 3rd party power supplies so how could we know? The only ones we tested and validated was the 360w Foxconn Liteon and Foxconn Delta power supplies." :(
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-08-2009, 06:37 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 407436
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Does the label on the OEM PSU say what ATX revision it is?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-2009, 09:14 PM
cgxps cgxps is offline
Registered User
cgxps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 407457
cgxps Reputation: 10
Default

This is is the only label on the original psu of the 435mt and there is no atx revision that I can see. Does any of the information we see on the label could help us?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 435MT_StockPSU_Label_01.jpg (121.2 KB, 292 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-09-2009, 06:15 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 407567
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Unfortunately the label does not tell us anything. I believe the system requires a proprietary PSU since this PSU work with other system. We can certainly let you try a different PSU if you want. Just use the On Line RMA Request Form and we will be happy to replace it. Be sure to check the box that says “I've already spoken to Technical Support and/or RAM Guy.”
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-09-2009, 07:53 PM
cgxps cgxps is offline
Registered User
cgxps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 407586
cgxps Reputation: 10
Default

First, thanks ramGuy for you help you make me want to beleive in Corsair alot more than some other company that the name start by D ;)
Would it help to understand what is not working if I tell you that the Antec EA 650(http://www.Antec.com/Believe_it/product.php?id=NjY=) does work with my Dell? It's realy nice of you to let me try a other Corsair but I would realy like to know what's not working before shipping you my hx620w for another model...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-09-2009, 09:04 PM
cgxps cgxps is offline
Registered User
cgxps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 407591
cgxps Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, there most be something with the competitor name not being accepted on the forum...sorry for that Here are the info I got on the psu: ATX12V version 2.2 and EPS12V version 2.91 compatible.

Last edited by Wired; 07-09-2009 at 09:15 PM. Reason: Forum rules apply to all
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-09-2009, 09:32 PM
FEAR6655 FEAR6655 is offline
Registered User
FEAR6655's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 242
POST ID # = 407592
FEAR6655 Reputation: 10
Default

If another ATX2.2 PSU from another brand works, there is no reason this Corsair shouldn't, power is power. Try the Corsair in the Dell once more.

And yes, competitor names are censored on the forum, as per the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-10-2009, 07:47 AM
cgxps cgxps is offline
Registered User
cgxps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 407619
cgxps Reputation: 10
Default

Tryed it again and nothing. I only get the amber light on my motherboard and no psu fan. I also tryed with only the 24 pin plugged in and still nothing:( Should I try to plug the 4 pin instead of the 8pin in the prossesor power plug?

Another weird thing is that I saw on another forum that a guy with the same dell435mt installed a vx550 and and it did work fine.

ps.sorry again about the competitor brand name thing...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-10-2009, 06:16 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 407723
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Let's get it RMAed and try a different HX620...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-10-2009, 11:07 PM
cgxps cgxps is offline
Registered User
cgxps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 407761
cgxps Reputation: 10
Default

Even if we tried it at my retailer store on a other pc and it did work? And the paperclip test did make the fan spin?

Maybe I should try a tx650. Is there any difference with the voltage or something between the hx, tx and vx series. I know the HX are modular but could there be a difference(voltage or anything else) so a vx for example work with my computer? There's also the fact that "Oblivious" got exactly the same problem with the same computer but with a hx520(http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=79572).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-18-2009, 06:37 PM
cgxps cgxps is offline
Registered User
cgxps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 408639
cgxps Reputation: 10
Default

Is it possible to get my hx620w replaced(RMAed) by a tx650 or a vx550?

Last edited by Wired; 07-18-2009 at 06:58 PM. Reason: merged posts
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-18-2009, 06:57 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,995
POST ID # = 408641
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

RMAs are only for the same product.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.