The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2009, 03:45 PM
sparkyw sparkyw is offline
Registered User
sparkyw's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 401873
sparkyw Reputation: 10
Default Dell E521 Memory upgrade

Hello there

Ok, at work we have a spare Dell machine which is a few years old, we are gonna upgrade it and are using it for connecting to a HD TV to play racing Sims, anyway I want to upgrade to some 2x 2gb sticks and want to make sure they are compatible

It is a Dell E521, Here are the board details :

Dell 0ct103 A03 (Nforce 410/430 mcp)

I am also upgrading the CPU to an X2 5600 (Windsor)

Machine is running Vista (32), is 64 better or?

Can you tell me will the following ram work ok with the board and which do you think would suit best, many thanks in advance

Corsair 4Gb DHX XMS2 (2x2Gb) DDR2 PC2-6400C4DHX Twin

Corsair 4GB DHX XMS2 (2x2GB) DDR2 PC2-6400C5DHX TwinX C5

Corsair 4GB Kit XMS2 (2x2GB) DDR2 TWIN2X4096 - 6400-C5

Corsair XMS2 4GB 8500MHz TWIN2X4096-8500C5 (2x 2GB Kit)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 05-20-2009, 03:52 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,998
POST ID # = 401875
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

None of the above.

Guaranteed-Compatible Memory for your Dell Dimension E521
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 05-20-2009, 04:00 PM
sparkyw sparkyw is offline
Registered User
sparkyw's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 401878
sparkyw Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
Thats a shame, for that board and to get the maximum performance (Without a new build) what memory setup would you recommend?

Is it a Corsair thing or just a Dell thing, what I mean is that will no 2gb sticks work on this board?

Thanks again
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 05-20-2009, 06:13 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,998
POST ID # = 401894
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

2 GB sticks will not work on that board. This is stated both on the link above as well on Dell's website. Most OEM systems don't work well (if at all) with non-JEDEC spec'd memory.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 05-21-2009, 04:40 AM
sparkyw sparkyw is offline
Registered User
sparkyw's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 401930
sparkyw Reputation: 10
Default

Ok ok, so one more question before I order.

So the best choice for the Dell board would be 4x 1gb of VS2GBKITB533D2

2 sets of these :

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-VS2G...GFRM8TB4NVSKR6

Many thanks
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.