The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Customer Service > Warranty Questions

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2005, 12:21 AM
FireGL FireGL is offline
Registered User
FireGL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 228103
FireGL Reputation: 10
Default CM72SD512RLP-3200/S generating 1-3-3-1 beep code

I already have two of these working fine in my board (Gigabyte GA-7A8DW) and I picked up four more, planning to use the extra two elsewhere. None of these four DIMMs allow the board to POST, even if I only use one alongside the two that work. Instead I get a blank, uninitialized display and a 1-3-3-1 beep message. All speeds and timings are at auto or BIOS defaults (whichever applicable) and I have no problems with my initial two DIMMs.

The board has Phoenix ServerBIOS 3 Release 6.0 version F2, the latest out. Any suggestions, or shall I begin the RMA process?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2005, 03:58 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 228168
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please check the part# of all of the modules and make sure they are exactly the same! (How To Read the Memory Label)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2005, 05:29 PM
FireGL FireGL is offline
Registered User
FireGL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 228198
FireGL Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks! I will check on that after I get home from work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:22 PM
FireGL FireGL is offline
Registered User
FireGL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 228227
FireGL Reputation: 10
Default

All four DIMMs have the same part number in the thread's title (unless that's the model number?). They also all have PC3200R-3330-Z1, maybe that's the part number. All four have CORSAIR 50-00131A silkscreened on the PCB.

The differences come in pairs. DIMMs 1 and 2 have the following lot code: 0415861-0, while 3 and 4 have 0431003-0. Also, 1 and 2 have SAMSUNG 407 K4H560838E-TCCC, while 3 and 4 have 428 in place of 407 and F in place of E.

I'm going to shut down the system now and check the respective markings on the DIMMs currently in use, and will post back shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:28 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 228230
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

OK these should work with each other, but please check the ones in the system.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:51 PM
FireGL FireGL is offline
Registered User
FireGL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 228238
FireGL Reputation: 10
Default

The ones in the system are:

CM72SD512RLP-3200\S (note the backslash)
0504029-0
SAMSUNG 501 ...E-TCCC

I tried all four suspected bad DIMMs as the only four in the system last night (it only has four slots), and received no beep codes, no display, and no POST. However I'll try all four again, I may have not waited long enough for the POST screen.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:55 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 228241
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yes that is possible it will take longer with 4 modules because it will go to every register and write "0's" to them before it post's.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2005, 08:04 PM
FireGL FireGL is offline
Registered User
FireGL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 228243
FireGL Reputation: 10
Default

Looks like I wasn't waiting long enough. I did indeed get a POST, however I also got a beep code (two short beeps) and the following message on the POST screen:

ERROR
Bad DIMM found in slot:00, node:00

ERROR
Bad DIMM found in slot:01, node:00

Press <F1> to resume, or <F2> to enter Setup

I went into BIOS but didn't see much I could do, so I exited and after the warm reboot I got the same beeps and message again, in addition to a complaint about my floppy drive (I have none). Now I've booted into Windows like this and the system seems to be ignoring the first two DIMMs. Those are the 0415861-0 DIMMs.

Also, Windows wants to run CHKDSK every boot and I can't escape it, but that may not be RAM-related.

I will now try replacing them with my initial DIMMs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2005, 08:12 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 228246
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please try these dims by them selves please and see if the system will post. Many times with server MB's you go to the memory section of the bios for it to see the new memory. Please check your user manual as I have not seen this MB.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2005, 08:16 PM
FireGL FireGL is offline
Registered User
FireGL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 228249
FireGL Reputation: 10
Default

I've replaced the two "Bad" DIMMs with my original two good DIMMs and all four are working fine. All that's left is to try these two "bad" ones with my original good ones, and then by themselves. I'll try those and report back.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-16-2005, 08:21 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 228252
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please follow the link in my signature “I think I have a bad part! Or *New* Tech Support Express” and we will be happy to replace them or it!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-16-2005, 08:38 PM
FireGL FireGL is offline
Registered User
FireGL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 228253
FireGL Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks very much! For the record I did try the two bad DIMMs by themselves and with my original good pair. In no case did they POST. I have to head out to a friend's but I will be following up on this with your sig'd links tonight or tomorrow. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-17-2005, 12:32 PM
FireGL FireGL is offline
Registered User
FireGL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 228294
FireGL Reputation: 10
Default

Oddly enough, I popped in the "bad" DIMMs this morning to run memtest. The system POSTed just fine with no beep codes or error messages, and they passed memtest.

Looks like there is no need for RMA after all, everything seems to be working just fine now. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-19-2005, 05:32 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 228470
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Wow that might suggest a weak or flakey slot, but if you have more problems, I would maybe test them in another system to be sure.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.