The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Voyager Air and USB Flash Drives

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2011, 12:40 AM
George Edison's Avatar
George Edison George Edison is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 497126
George Edison Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Survivor GTR 32GB consistently fails with I/O errors at same location.

I recently received a Corsair Survivor GTR 32 GB flash drive as a gift and decided to try it out by copying about 7GB of photos to the drive. Unfortunately, after about 2GB was copied, the transfer was aborted and the flash drive was immediately dismounted. The light on the drive flashed continuously and the only way to make it stop was to unplug it and plug it back in again. I have tried reformatting it with different filesystems (FAT32, NTFS, exFAT, Ext2) but I run into the same problem with each of them.

I originally thought the problem might be with the Linux mass storage driver or something, so I posted a question here: http://askubuntu.com/questions/31307...sb-flash-drive

As mentioned in that question, I have tried plugging it into different ports and I have tried using different operating systems. Ubuntu's Disk Utility comes with a performance benchmark tool and I tried running that. Each time, it reported an I/O error (like "Error writing 5677056 bytes at 3416145920 to /dev/sdc: Input/output error"). The area it reported the problem with was about the same each time.

I am considering RMA'ing it since it seems like the drive is defective, but I don't know what options I have considering the drive was a gift. Can I still get it replaced? I don't have the plastic from the packaging, but I have all of the parts including the cardboard insert.

Last edited by George Edison; 04-07-2011 at 12:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2011, 02:42 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 497216
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would try the firmware update posted at the top of this section and if that does not work then you can use the link on the left and request an RMA.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:14 PM
George Edison's Avatar
George Edison George Edison is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 497223
George Edison Reputation: 10
Default

Attempting to update the firmware results in the error "URescue does not support this device. Please contact the manufacturer".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2011, 05:40 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 497248
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

When you ran the application did you run it as an Administrator?
If you did not please try it again even if you are logged in as Administrator it will not work unless you right clock on the program and select RUN AS Administrator.
If you have done that and its still not working then please use the link on the left and request an RMA and we can replace it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2011, 11:42 AM
George Edison's Avatar
George Edison George Edison is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 497356
George Edison Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, I right-clicked it and ran it as an administrator - same result.

I have now applied for an RMA.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2011, 11:44 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 497358
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

NP Sorry it did not work for you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2011, 01:29 AM
George Edison's Avatar
George Edison George Edison is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 505480
George Edison Reputation: 10
Default

I just wanted to provide an update for this...

I received the replacement in the mail today and quickly put it through some testing. I am pleased to report that the new drive works flawlessly and is just as fast as ever.

Thank you for replacing the drive!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-03-2011, 06:24 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 505644
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

NP Thank you for letting us know.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.