The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2010, 08:03 AM
alpaugh78 alpaugh78 is offline
Registered User
alpaugh78's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 468203
alpaugh78 Reputation: 10
Default Cold Boot BSOD's

Hi, I recently completed my new build and it ran great for the first week or so. Now all of a sudden I'm getting BSOD's on cold boots. It happens every morning when I start my pc up. I have run Memtest86+ right after the first bsod and it instantly found errors. After a couple tries the pc will then boot into Windows. After that I can restart and run Memtest again without a single error. It does this no matter how I set my memory up in bios whether it's XMP or manually. It also doesn't matter what speed, 1600 or 1333. Once it gets going my pc runs great. Please help

Last edited by alpaugh78; 09-26-2010 at 03:02 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-25-2010, 04:22 PM
Shacko91 Shacko91 is offline
Registered User
Shacko91's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 468239
Shacko91 Reputation: 10
Default

Try to take a look at the "cold boot" voltages and if your memory voltage is set well, if they're fine the problem can be a faulty capacitor in your mobo. Try also to see if there's something wrong in your pc (for example a fan that can't run because of dust or something like that)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-25-2010, 10:20 PM
lordkermit lordkermit is offline
Registered User
lordkermit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 468265
lordkermit Reputation: 10
Default

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/show...025#post468025

pretty certain its not a faulty mobo issue... :)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-25-2010, 10:40 PM
trackrat trackrat is offline
Registered User
trackrat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 702
POST ID # = 468269
trackrat Reputation: 10
Default

^^^^ While anything is possible, the OP is running different modules than you in an Intel system not an AMD.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-25-2010, 11:06 PM
lordkermit lordkermit is offline
Registered User
lordkermit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 468270
lordkermit Reputation: 10
Default

exactly...

same exact problem, two different mobo's/system styles.

same series of ram (even if not same exact model) is the only commonality...
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-26-2010, 12:40 AM
PotoLOL PotoLOL is offline
Registered User
PotoLOL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 468276
PotoLOL Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alpaugh78 View Post
Hi, I recently completely my new build and it ran great for the first week or so. Now all of a sudden I'm getting BSOD's on cold boots. It happens every morning when I start my pc up. I have run Memtest86+ right after the first bsod and it instantly found errors. After a couple tries the pc will then boot into Windows. After that I can restart and run Memtest again without a single error. It does this no matter how I set my memory up in bios whether it's XMP or manually. It also doesn't matter what speed, 1600 or 1333. Once it gets going my pc runs great. Please help
The test I have adopted for stability is agentGOD's Intel Burn Test. See if your system can pass that one also. :)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-26-2010, 02:25 AM
alpaugh78 alpaugh78 is offline
Registered User
alpaugh78's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 468281
alpaugh78 Reputation: 10
Default

I have went into Bios to and checked my voltages(on a cold boot) to see if anything has changed and it's fine. It's always the same as it was the day before. All fans are running good. I clean everything every 2 weeks or so. I have used IBT, Prime95 and OCCT to stress my pc and it passes on every occasion. I just updated bios today with the hope that it takes care of the problem. I was running the f11 bios and now it's the F13 bios.

Right now, I'm at a loss. Everything seems great once it gets warmed up, just that initial boot after its been off for awhile.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-26-2010, 03:59 AM
PotoLOL PotoLOL is offline
Registered User
PotoLOL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 468288
PotoLOL Reputation: 10
Default

Hello, alpaugh78.

If your BIOS is indeed stable, then my guess is that data corruption has occurred at the operating system level without your awareness sometime after its successful installation.

Perhaps an unsuccessful installation or update during this time may have led to instability of the Windows environment. Have you scheduled Checkdisk or tried system repair?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-26-2010, 04:21 AM
alpaugh78 alpaugh78 is offline
Registered User
alpaugh78's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 468289
alpaugh78 Reputation: 10
Default

I too thought the same thing Poto. I went as far as completely wiping my HDD with DBAN to get rid of everything on it. Did that Friday morning and reinstalled Friday night after it was done. Shut my pc off, went to work(I work 3rd) and started my pc back up after I got home yesterday morning. Same BSOD on a new Windows install with absolutly nothing on it other than whats on the Windows 7 DVD. Memtest86 errors like crazy. After about 5 boot attempts I finally got into Windows with everything running fine. Then I restarted, ran Memtest86 again and no errors. I've tried both sticks individually in both slots and as long as it's not on a cold boot they pass memtest every time.

I have done everything I can think of to find the problem. I took my entire pc apart, made sure there were no bent pins in the cpu socket and put it all back together again. Personally I'm exhausted from this issue right now, and just want to find the solution. I have no temp issues, I've reseated the ram multiple times and I'm just frustrated right now. Worst part is that my back up board is down right now too and i have been waiting for Gigabyte to issue my an RMA for that for the last 3-4 days....Annoyed. Thanks for helping though I appreciate it alot.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-26-2010, 04:39 AM
Shacko91 Shacko91 is offline
Registered User
Shacko91's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 468292
Shacko91 Reputation: 10
Default

Try downloading a big compressed file and try to unzip it, let us know if you experience any CRC errors. When I was using my faulty module I've often had CRC errors with compressed files.

PS: if you found errors on memtest the problem is definitely not the OS

(I needed 2 months to find out the problem on my PC)
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-26-2010, 06:22 AM
PotoLOL PotoLOL is offline
Registered User
PotoLOL's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 468301
PotoLOL Reputation: 10
Default

Have you tried the following suggestion?

You say that you are seeing the BSOD. This screen should give you a hint of what's wrong. There may be one or more error codes listed on this screen, which you can write down and track down on Microsoft's site for information.

To pause on the BSOD, follow advice on this link:

http://www.mytechguide.org/2009/08/1...reen-of-death/
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-26-2010, 06:45 AM
lordkermit lordkermit is offline
Registered User
lordkermit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 468303
lordkermit Reputation: 10
Default

sorry not trying to highjack your thread...

Personally I had lots of CRC issues with compressed files. Most of this cleared up by changing/experimenting with the timings/voltages. However I still get them from time to time. My build is less than a month old, and I've rebuilt windows as well from scratch and still have the same issue. All tests that run in windows will pass 100% (once I can actually get windows to boot up). The cold boot issue can only be seen by using memtest immediatly upon booting. Otherwise it will pass with flying colors. Currently the only workaround is just to put my machine in sleep mode to keep the memory active instead of shutting down completely. When this is done, my machine is perfect upon "waking". Im unsure why this works but it does.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-26-2010, 02:15 PM
lordkermit lordkermit is offline
Registered User
lordkermit's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 468329
lordkermit Reputation: 10
Default

As an addendum... I can't speak for the original poster but my blue screens always have something to do with Memory (referring to the title at the top of the blue screen). Although I can't remember exactly which ones. I've seen at least 3 or 4 different ones all pertaining to memory.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-27-2010, 05:08 PM
alpaugh78 alpaugh78 is offline
Registered User
alpaugh78's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 468479
alpaugh78 Reputation: 10
Default

My pc was on all weekend and all day today so I haven't had a BSOD for the last couple days. I have already set it up to pause so the next time it cold boots(probably tomorrow morning) I'll let you all know what I come up with. Also Shacko, I did what you said and downloaded a large zip file and unzipped it...no CRC errors.

Seriously guys, thanks for all help with this. I'm still learning my ways around a pc so I use forums alot for help. This is one of the better ones, I must say...Anyways, I'll keep you all posted.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-30-2010, 05:16 PM
alpaugh78 alpaugh78 is offline
Registered User
alpaugh78's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 469027
alpaugh78 Reputation: 10
Default

Well...no luck here. Set up an RMA on my memory and was wondering how long my RMA number is good for. A friend of mine just finished up a new pc and has offered to test my memory on his system to make sure thats what it is. Been a frustrating last 2 weeks with this and this should make the problem clear. If it causes a BSOD on his system I know is bad...if not, may have to RMA my motherboard.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.