The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Customer Service > Warranty Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2009, 01:28 PM
SmashLogic SmashLogic is offline
Registered User
SmashLogic's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 424967
SmashLogic Reputation: 10
Default TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF Random PC Check Failures

I have looked everywhere and I am not sure what is going on.

So originally I had two 1gb sticks of Crucial Ballistix PC8500 5-5-5-15 2.0V which worked fine - no random blue screens.

Returned the Ballistix because I wanted 2gb modules and better ram so I opted for the Dominator RAM.

It was all uphill from there.

I had read the previous post regarding the person who had four modules, as I have been jut using two, but because I found one of the sticks to be bad with my first set, I went and bought another set. So I then replaced the one and was getting random blue screens - and ran memtest and it passed on 2 passes. Also try stacking in different combinations to ensure it's not a bad DIMM which I lead not to believe is the case.

Then I ran PC Check - and it failed module 1 with the microtopology test and chaotic addressing - then with module 2 it failed only the microtopology. But the second pass of pc check had the first module fail the same but second failed Chaotic Addressing, Block Rotation and Microtopology.

I then pulled both out and placed the other two I had pulled out previous to that and put them in the other pair of dim's. I then again ran PC CHeck and everything passed. Now this morning I run it again and it turns out Memory 1 Microtopology failed. But Memory two has now passed again.

I am going to try to running again.

I also have been up and down the river with my bios settings.

I have upped the voltage to 2.1V and manually adjust the timings - which didn't help. But right now with running testing on the two sets of Dominator Ram I've been using the timing set to AUTO which it reads it correctly as 5-5-5-15 and the voltage at 2.10v - using AUTO on the board appears it to only give it a 1.8v and the stability seems to be worse.

Any ideas on what I should do? It's driving me crazy, otherwise I may have to go with other RAM :\

Your help is much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2009, 02:12 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 424971
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please make sure that you have the latest bios and load setup defaults and then set the memory Voltage to 2.1 Volts then set the timings manually to the tested settings for the specific module you have, and test the modules one at a time with www.memtest.org to be sure one is not failing. If you still get errors, please follow the link in my signature “I think I have a bad part!” and we will be happy to replace them or it! However, if you get errors with both modules that would suggest some other problem and I would test them in another system or MB to be sure. In addition, with some MB's (Mostly ASUS) you have to disable legacy USB in the bios when running any memory test.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2009, 11:38 PM
SmashLogic SmashLogic is offline
Registered User
SmashLogic's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 425259
SmashLogic Reputation: 10
Default

After I updated to the latest bios - set optimized defaults - and it ran stable for a lot longer than any other config I had going - ran a stress test/memtest for 60+ mins and it was just fine, then while playing a game, bam another blue screen - I just don't get why this doesn't work right out of the box as is, it's listed as approved memory on Gigabyte's Website, exact model # and everything - I have found no FAQ's on it at all about setup on their website either. This is frustrating. Should I be looking to get another motherboard - I am still within return policy

Any further advice would be much appreciated

Bluescreens:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: a
BCP1: 00AB40D4
BCP2: 00000002
BCP3: 00000000
BCP4: 81E454E7
OS Version: 6_0_6002
Service Pack: 2_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini110409-11.dmp
C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-844839-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\WERAB.tmp.version.txt

Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?li [...] cid=0x0409


Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: f4
BCP1: 00000003
BCP2: 87614D90
BCP3: 87614EDC
BCP4: 8225C650
OS Version: 6_0_6002
Service Pack: 2_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini110609-13.dmp
C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-73913-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\WER4CA8.tmp.version.txt

Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?li [...] cid=0x0409

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: a
BCP1: 00000004
BCP2: 00000002
BCP3: 00000000
BCP4: 820B65FE
OS Version: 6_0_6002
Service Pack: 2_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini110609-15.dmp
C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-72322-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\WER4B42.tmp.version.txt

Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?li [...] cid=0x0409


Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 1000007e
BCP1: C0000005
BCP2: 9033645E
BCP3: 8DEDBC8C
BCP4: 8DEDB988
OS Version: 6_0_6002
Service Pack: 2_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini110609-16.dmp
C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-70746-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\WER2876.tmp.version.txt

Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?li [...] cid=0x0409
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2009, 12:31 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 425475
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would suggest you contact Microsoft to help you decode the mini dumps if you are not getting errors in memtest.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.