The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2018, 01:46 PM
denym_ denym_ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 939373
denym_ Reputation: 10
Default Recent issue with LL120

1-3 functioning like expected
4 the outer ring doesn't work
5-6 no light at all

Didn't have any updates.

After pluginh some fans out and changing port. When I put fan 5 and 6 to slot 4 and 5 they light up as they should. It seems that nr4 issue leads to not functioning 5 and 6
Fan after 3 weeks defect?

best regards
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-06-2018, 01:50 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,207
POST ID # = 939375
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Hi buddy

So if you remove the fan in port 4 and move fans 5 and 6 to ports 4 and 5 does it all work ok?

Which as I think you have already worked out means fan 4 is faulty.. although they are connected into 6 separate ports. the are still effectively daisy chained inside the hub like the Lighting Pro Strips are. If there is a break in the chain (Fan 4) then links 5 and 6 in the chain wont work..


Corsair will send you a new one.. contact support and have your proof of purchase to hand ;)

Pictures & Video of the problem all helps dude... send them anything that helps you show you have an issue.. information is everything...

Last edited by Zotty; 02-06-2018 at 01:59 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-06-2018, 02:26 PM
denym_ denym_ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 939379
denym_ Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
Hi buddy

So if you remove the fan in port 4 and move fans 5 and 6 to ports 4 and 5 does it all work ok?

Which as I think you have already worked out means fan 4 is faulty.. although they are connected into 6 separate ports. the are still effectively daisy chained inside the hub like the Lighting Pro Strips are. If there is a break in the chain (Fan 4) then links 5 and 6 in the chain wont work..


Corsair will send you a new one.. contact support and have your proof of purchase to hand ;)

Pictures & Video of the problem all helps dude... send them anything that helps you show you have an issue.. information is everything...
Yep that seems the problem. Was just hoping its something different since inner ring is still working. So I guessed that only the led outer ring is faulty but the 4 pins still working as expected.

Any idea how long the support will prob take? Guess its way easier and faster to just order a new one? Although maybe that's the plan all along that people are to lazy to report and send some mail. In my case its not even lazy. Its collecting all the data send the report maybe send in the fan. Takes all together an hour. So its effectively cheaper to buy new.


Kinda bad that it got defective after 3 weeks. Maybe I just wait 2 more weeks and the other fans will follow.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-12-2018, 03:14 AM
denym_ denym_ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 940204
denym_ Reputation: 10
Default

Just FYI,

yesterday it worked again. Was able to change to channeled affects and also apply single colors to all the fans. Today it doesn't work anymore. It does the same thing described before.

Last edited by denym_; 02-12-2018 at 03:17 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-12-2018, 03:24 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,207
POST ID # = 940206
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

are you running EVGA Precision X by any chance dude?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-12-2018, 07:55 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,303
POST ID # = 940290
Greybeard Reputation: 14
Default

If you decide to RMA the fan from us, post your ticket # here so I can help out to speed up the process.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-17-2018, 01:51 PM
denym_ denym_ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 941127
denym_ Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
are you running EVGA Precision X by any chance dude?
No had asus thing running for the mb and gpu but threw it out because it made trouble with the rgb on the ram. Now its working again as expected. Will wait until its not.

Last edited by denym_; 02-17-2018 at 02:24 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-17-2018, 06:15 PM
PJH's Avatar
PJH PJH is offline
Registered User
PJH's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 147
POST ID # = 941145
PJH Reputation: 14
Default

Hmm.

I run Aura Sync along side of Corsair LINK and CUE2 without issue. Granted, I do not have Corsair RAM, but I have never run into issues with them running together.

Aura Sync I only load to flip colours on RAM, GPU and CPU lighting, which that program controls.

Corsair LINK and CUE2 maintain led strips, all fans, keyboard, mouse, headset and stand.

Once you set your settings with ASUS Sync, it no longer needs to be running, fyi.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-09-2018, 09:30 AM
denym_ denym_ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 949354
denym_ Reputation: 10
Default

Just updating for interest.

Since fan Nr 4 was faulty I had to exchange it. It took some time until I was able to take care of that. In that time fan Nr 1 showed issues. The upper quarter of inner led ring got stuck on a fixed color. That fixed color changes but never to the one it is supposed to show.
Last week I finally ordered 2 new fans to exchange the not working nr 4 and the faulty working nr 1. After a lot of hassle and rewiring they were exchanged and it worked like on the first day. That was on Wednesday last week.

Today I looked dreamily at my pong effect and I noticed that frickin fan Nr 5 shows the faulty behavior that fan nr 1 had.
I am so done :(

Last edited by denym_; 04-09-2018 at 09:37 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.