The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2014, 10:21 AM
jacobite1 jacobite1 is offline
Registered User
jacobite1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 696593
jacobite1 Reputation: 10
Default K70 caps, num, scroll lights not working

Hi, Any idea how to get the caps lock, num lock and scroll lock lights to work on a K70 ( Red ).

Caps and num lock will work when in BIOS mode, but then you get the very annoying blinking Scroll lock light.

In all other modes the indicator lights refuse to function, although the actions do appear to work ok. I can live without the other two, but a working Caps lock indicator would be a real help.

MB is Asus Sabre X58 with latest bios.
OS is Linux 64bit ( Mint )

Only use the keyboard for typing as not interested in games. Just wanted a solid mechanical keyboard.

Cheers
Alan
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 02-11-2014, 03:08 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11,521
POST ID # = 696702
Toasted Reputation: 86
Default

Have you tried reflashing the firmware?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 02-11-2014, 03:40 AM
jacobite1 jacobite1 is offline
Registered User
jacobite1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 696712
jacobite1 Reputation: 10
Default

Yes I upgraded the X58 bios to the latest version 1402 before posting. Didn't make any difference.

Cheers
Alan
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 02-12-2014, 02:02 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11,521
POST ID # = 696846
Toasted Reputation: 86
Default

I meant the firmware for the K70.
http://www.corsair.com/us/media/cms/...tup-091913.zip
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 02-17-2014, 08:24 AM
jacobite1 jacobite1 is offline
Registered User
jacobite1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 697732
jacobite1 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks, didn't even know the keyboard had firmware.

Not sure how to check what I have now or how to update it as I do not have Windows.

Alan
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 02-18-2014, 02:51 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11,521
POST ID # = 697889
Toasted Reputation: 86
Default

You can ask your friends if you can update the keyboard FW on their computer and also test the Numlock, Caps lock and scroll lock L.E.D.

I remember some Mac users, experiencing this issue as well. Unfortunately, there wasn't a fix for it.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 05-23-2014, 06:32 PM
anton.c42 anton.c42 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 711950
anton.c42 Reputation: 10
Default Also having this problem in Linux

I just bought this keyboard and I'm having the same problem in Linux. I've updated to the newest firmware for the keyboard (FW 1-09 posted here) but it didn't fix the problem.

Is there anything else that I can do?

Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 05-25-2014, 03:48 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11,521
POST ID # = 712121
Toasted Reputation: 86
Default

I don't think there is a fix for the NumLock, Caps Lock, etc L.E.D.s when its on a non Windows Operating system e.g. Mac OSX and Linux.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 06-04-2014, 09:07 AM
kayahr kayahr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 713797
kayahr Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
I don't think there is a fix for the NumLock, Caps Lock, etc L.E.D.s when its on a non Windows Operating system e.g. Mac OSX and Linux.
Hm... I guess I found the reason why this is not working on Linux. If you connect two keyboards to a Windows machine and press Caps-Lock on one of them then the LED on both keyboards is toggled. If you do the same on Linux then this is not the case. Each keyboard has its own LED state and the keyboard is responsible for toggling it.

The K70 is recognized as TWO keyboards in the Windows Device manager. So I guess the LEDs and the keyboard itself are separate devices when not running the keyboard in BIOS-mode. So on windows the LEDs are informed by Windows about the various Lock-States. That's why it works on Windows. On Linux this does not work because the keyboard should toggle the LEDs itself. It does that in BIOS mode but then you have the annoying scroll-lock-LED-flashing.

That's really a shame. I bought this keyboard for Gaming on Windows and Coding on Linux... I have another even more annoying issue on Linux which does not occur on Windows and I guess I have to send the keyboard back because I really don't want to pay a price as high as this for a Windows-only keyboard...
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.