The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2013, 06:16 PM
Sup3rFly Sup3rFly is offline
Registered User
Sup3rFly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 648234
Sup3rFly Reputation: 10
Default New H80i - H80i Temp 1 question

Hi guys,

Just installed the H80i, and everything seems fine, PCU idles between 28 and 30 degrees. But inside the CorsairLink H80i Temp 1 flickers between 122.8 degrees and 0 degrees...any ideas why this is?

I left CorsairLink open for 30mins and came back and it was reading 40 Degrees last night but flickers a lot.

My setup is a NZXT which has a top mount PSU to the pump acts as an exhaust.

As you can see its sitting on 0.0 now, im not quick enough to capture it on 122.8.


Last edited by Sup3rFly; 04-20-2013 at 06:21 PM. Reason: Upload image
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 04-20-2013, 06:20 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
Registered User
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 6,558
POST ID # = 648235
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 158
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

how do you mean it flickers?
turns red ,then resumes?
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------
3770K H100I Build 2 http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...psb4e13b48.png
2600 H100I Build 3 http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...psd78bce8e.png
G620 H-80 1st Build http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...psd78bce8e.png

4930K Custom Loop-4th Build - http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...9197e362.pngok
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 04-20-2013, 06:42 PM
Sup3rFly Sup3rFly is offline
Registered User
Sup3rFly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 648237
Sup3rFly Reputation: 10
Default

Hi wytnyt,

if you look on the left you can see it says H80i Temp 1...which was there by default and its reading 0.0 ?

Well the 0.0 chages quickly between 122.8 and 0.0 and sometimes rarely show 40.6
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 04-20-2013, 09:49 PM
Sup3rFly Sup3rFly is offline
Registered User
Sup3rFly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 648249
Sup3rFly Reputation: 10
Default

Now its showing this...



Are these temps bad...good...or what...

Appreciate any help

thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 04-20-2013, 10:25 PM
Bryman's Avatar
Bryman Bryman is offline
Registered User
Bryman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 738
POST ID # = 648252
Bryman Reputation: 15
Default

NO way the pump can be over 175 degrees and the processor be a little over 80-85...(fahenheight) yes your temp is fine according to the processor but the reading it is getting from the pump is wrong... Your pump should NEVER be above around 100 degrees (fahenheight) at max make it more clear 174 degrees is 80C 85 degrees is ABOUT 30C and 100 degrees is a little under 40C... Sorry I'm making this confusing...it's not getting the reading from the h80i
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 04-20-2013, 10:45 PM
Sup3rFly Sup3rFly is offline
Registered User
Sup3rFly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 648254
Sup3rFly Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryman View Post
NO way the pump can be over 175 degrees and the processor be a little over 80-85...(fahenheight) yes your temp is fine according to the processor but the reading it is getting from the pump is wrong... Your pump should NEVER be above around 100 degrees (fahenheight) at max make it more clear 174 degrees is 80C 85 degrees is ABOUT 30C and 100 degrees is a little under 40C... Sorry I'm making this confusing...it's not getting the reading from the h80i
Hi Bryman,

Its fine I understood what you meant, so why would the pump be reading 85C ?

I felt the pump and there is no way its that hot or even close...

Suggestions?

Last edited by Sup3rFly; 04-20-2013 at 10:49 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 04-22-2013, 02:45 AM
Sup3rFly Sup3rFly is offline
Registered User
Sup3rFly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 648419
Sup3rFly Reputation: 10
Default

Update - So i unistalled the program made sure all my profiles were gone and now H80i Temp 1 wont even show.



Do i upgrade the firmware on the device? Read in a few places that's a no no?

So after a restart its appeared again, but showing 95C ?

Update 2 - I felt the pump and its a warmish feel, tubes are cold and radiator is cool...



Update 3 - Randomly checked the temp and showed the below - but watching it now its slowly climbing back up...but temp inside cases hasnt changed or anything...



Really hope someone has some ideas.

Last edited by Sup3rFly; 04-22-2013 at 05:09 AM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 04-22-2013, 06:36 PM
Bryman's Avatar
Bryman Bryman is offline
Registered User
Bryman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 738
POST ID # = 648606
Bryman Reputation: 15
Default

if the pump temp is 95C the tubes should burn you they shouldnt just feel 'warm' 95C is 194 degrees if im correct...

as for fan speeds they look fine also idle temps look perfectly fine on the i5...as long as its below around 40C in a normal room temp room your fine...

39.2C cant be right the H80i temp should ALWAYS be lower than the core temp...had you just been running some games or something within 5 minutes of checking it?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 04-22-2013, 07:31 PM
Sup3rFly Sup3rFly is offline
Registered User
Sup3rFly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 648621
Sup3rFly Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryman View Post
if the pump temp is 95C the tubes should burn you they shouldnt just feel 'warm' 95C is 194 degrees if im correct...

as for fan speeds they look fine also idle temps look perfectly fine on the i5...as long as its below around 40C in a normal room temp room your fine...

39.2C cant be right the H80i temp should ALWAYS be lower than the core temp...had you just been running some games or something within 5 minutes of checking it?
Hey Bryman,

Thanks for the reply, appreaciate it!

My thoughts are the same as yours, if its reading so high shouldnt i be burnt/not be able to touch the unit and not just feel a cool-warm feel.

The CPU reached 55C ish.. while playing games, but after finsihing it quickly drops to 32C - the pump at the time was reading 0.0 - that picture was taken before any games or anything...just idle.

Do we assume faulty sensor?

if it was the way the pump was sitting on the CPU i would have thought the CPU would be reading high as well.

Regards,

Aaron
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 04-22-2013, 08:49 PM
Bryman's Avatar
Bryman Bryman is offline
Registered User
Bryman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 738
POST ID # = 648638
Bryman Reputation: 15
Default

the pump can almost NEVER be hotter than the cpu temp...so yes something is wrong i would recommend an RMA

of course its not reading correctly so its just the reading thats wrong but i would still rma
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 04-23-2013, 05:15 PM
Sup3rFly Sup3rFly is offline
Registered User
Sup3rFly's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 648804
Sup3rFly Reputation: 10
Default

Hi bryman,

If the pump was 95C, the CPU should be the same or higher, doesn't make sense for the figures to be the way they are.

Being in Australia it's really hard calling the support line and the online chat always says offline.

The supplier has agreed to replace the unit after testing it themselves, but they would like some sort of email or statement from Corsair saying that it is a fault and they would replace the unit.

RAM GUY - Could you look at my support ticket if you had a chance? 6007669
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 04-29-2013, 05:28 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 649911
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Sup3rFly - Im working with Customer service right now and see if they can give you a call to set this up.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.