The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2012, 07:43 AM
unknownmember unknownmember is offline
Registered User
unknownmember's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 599345
unknownmember Reputation: 10
Default Upgrade to Z77 for TRIM or stick with Z68 F3s ITGC?

As the topic says really. Currently running two F3s in RAID0 with 57.2 free and from the attached benchmark, would you say that ITGC has been doing a good job?

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: png bench.png (35.2 KB, 112 views)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 08-28-2012, 08:47 AM
Turbonerfs101e's Avatar
Turbonerfs101e Turbonerfs101e is offline
Registered User
Turbonerfs101e's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 490
POST ID # = 599352
Turbonerfs101e Reputation: 10
Default

Hi unknownmember
I don't now why you want to upgrade to z68 your banchmarck is very good you won't get more from Z77 chipset

If you wan't to change system just to get trim support It at lest 500$
Just do a Image ove windows 7 on a HHD and wend you tink performance go down just restor system from image after doing a secure erese ove ssd.
That wath i do, but i don't feel the nead to do it more then 1 a year.
Windows 7 have is image restoring system it worck very well , except if you have ditdefender or program that will use to mutch space on partition reserve to system partition. If u all redy intall ditdefender u could use norton ghost but it not free
Restor windows 7 and all game, about 140gb in 20 min.

Hope this help
Sincerly yours
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 08-29-2012, 12:22 AM
richardd43 richardd43 is offline
Registered User
richardd43's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 78
POST ID # = 599476
richardd43 Reputation: 10
Default

RAID 0 does not support trim. You can upgrade all you want but until Intel comes out with new drivers there is no trim support in RAID.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 08-29-2012, 07:45 AM
unknownmember unknownmember is offline
Registered User
unknownmember's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 599524
unknownmember Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbonerfs101e View Post
...Image ove windows 7 on a HHD and wend you tink performance go down just restor system from image after doing a secure erese ove ssd....
Yea I'll just do that actually, coz come to think of it with how I use my PC I barely write that many new data or at all, just reads really.

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by richardd43 View Post
RAID 0 does not support trim. You can upgrade all you want but until Intel comes out with new drivers there is no trim support in RAID.
TRIM now supports RAID0 with 11.2 but is only supported on the 7-series chipset which is a real bummer coz the Z68 and Z77 is essentially the same just that 77 has native USB3.0 support and upgraded to PCIE3.0....dam you Intel!!!!

Thanks
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 08-29-2012, 11:50 PM
richardd43 richardd43 is offline
Registered User
richardd43's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 78
POST ID # = 599645
richardd43 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
TRIM now supports RAID0 with 11.2
I thought they had pulled the driver.. Will have to give it a try.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 08-31-2012, 03:05 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,304
POST ID # = 600067
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Garbage collection that is built into all of our current SSD's should help to maintain performance on average use but occasionally it may be required to restore the drive performance by doing a secure erase.
However I have three SSD's in RAID running for more than a year and the performance it still within 10% of what it was when Initially installed the O.S.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 08-31-2012 at 03:08 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 09-25-2012, 07:02 PM
modmax modmax is offline
Registered User
modmax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 604522
modmax Reputation: 10
Default

this is the bios asrock of z68ext3gen3 with slic 2.1 and raid rom OROM 11.5.0.1582 to enable trim in raid 0 with z68 chipset. tested and working 100%.
https://rapidshare.com/files/1672460...1.5.0.1582.rar
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 09-26-2012, 02:37 AM
jeroompje jeroompje is offline
Banned
jeroompje's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 604567
jeroompje Reputation: 10
Default

explain how you test LOL

besides, AnandTech (well respected techside) states only Z77 chipset is doing trim on raid-0:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6161/i...rds-we-test-it
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 09-26-2012, 06:17 AM
modmax modmax is offline
Registered User
modmax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 604592
modmax Reputation: 10
Default z68 trim raid 0

inserted OROM with phoenix bios tool the only difference is in the firmware chip is always ICH10R http://s10.postimage.org/r9d0ycqt5/Immagine.jpg
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 09-26-2012, 06:28 AM
modmax modmax is offline
Registered User
modmax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 604593
modmax Reputation: 10
Default

Intel does not release update z68 because otherwise the only difference between z68 and Z77 is the number after z the production process is the same 65nm
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 09-26-2012, 06:30 AM
modmax modmax is offline
Registered User
modmax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 604595
modmax Reputation: 10
Default

http://ark.intel.com/products/52816/Intel-BD82Z68-PCH ---- http://ark.intel.com/products/64024/Intel-BD82Z77-PCH
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 09-26-2012, 07:32 AM
modmax modmax is offline
Registered User
modmax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 604604
modmax Reputation: 10
Default z68 trim raid 0

new link http://www.filefactory.com/file/ehgifbayn8f
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 09-26-2012, 08:18 AM
jeroompje jeroompje is offline
Banned
jeroompje's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 604610
jeroompje Reputation: 10
Default

my asus maximus iv extreme-z got an ami bios.
which tool should i use to apply the raid option rom?

Last edited by jeroompje; 09-26-2012 at 08:25 AM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #14  
Old 09-27-2012, 03:50 AM
modmax modmax is offline
Registered User
modmax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 604763
modmax Reputation: 10
Default

post bios *************
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #15  
Old 09-27-2012, 03:50 AM
modmax modmax is offline
Registered User
modmax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 604764
modmax Reputation: 10
Default

ami tool ************
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.