The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2018, 12:44 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
I Fight For The Users
Dicehunter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: UK - England
Posts: 420
POST ID # = 954003
Dicehunter Reputation: 16
Default Product Idea - Corsair RGB Ram Slot Covers

So at the moment I'm running 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB sticks, They look fantastic and their performance is speedy, But I have 2 empty slots which is annoying

It got me thinking, As current memory prices are absurd, Almost double what I paid a mere 8 months ago, How about RGB ram slot covers.

They would basically be ram PCB's minus the memory chips, An RGB bar along the top and controlled via iCUE like current Corsair RGB memory, they could even have the same styling to blend in with the system.

This would give people who don't need extra ram or those who cannot afford the high prices of ram, The ability to populate their empty ram slots for "decoration".

__________________
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-10-2018, 12:43 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 556
POST ID # = 954084
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
So at the moment I'm running 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB sticks, They look fantastic and their performance is speedy, But I have 2 empty slots which is annoying

It got me thinking, As current memory prices are absurd, Almost double what I paid a mere 8 months ago, How about RGB ram slot covers.

They would basically be ram PCB's minus the memory chips, An RGB bar along the top and controlled via iCUE like current Corsair RGB memory, they could even have the same styling to blend in with the system.

This would give people who don't need extra ram or those who cannot afford the high prices of ram, The ability to populate their empty ram slots for "decoration".

As in dummy modules with the RGB strip?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-10-2018, 12:47 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,578
POST ID # = 954088
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Art View Post
As in dummy modules with the RGB strip?

THIS!!!!!!!!!.. not that I have any empty slots.. lol.. platinum pro RGB lightbar's would be good though.....
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-10-2018, 12:50 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
I Fight For The Users
Dicehunter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: UK - England
Posts: 420
POST ID # = 954090
Dicehunter Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Art View Post
As in dummy modules with the RGB strip?
Yep, Exactly that would give people who don't need/want extra memory an extra option for interior decoration
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-13-2018, 11:15 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 556
POST ID # = 954529
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Yep, Exactly that would give people who don't need/want extra memory an extra option for interior decoration
I can definitely mention that, never had though of it that way. I know some motherboards come with DIMM covers, though.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-14-2018, 02:02 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,578
POST ID # = 954543
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthre...ight=dummy+ram

not the first time this has been mentioned btw
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-15-2018, 10:03 AM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 556
POST ID # = 954717
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthre...ight=dummy+ram

not the first time this has been mentioned btw
Helps even more when people jump on this numerous times. I'll bring it up.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #8  
Old 06-05-2018, 07:11 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
I Fight For The Users
Dicehunter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: UK - England
Posts: 420
POST ID # = 957725
Dicehunter Reputation: 16
Default

So me and several others were suggesting this to Corsair and it seems another company cottoned onto the idea with Aorus RGB Dummy Sticks -

https://www.pcmag.com/news/361585/pr...b-dummy-sticks

__________________
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-07-2018, 02:49 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 670
POST ID # = 958074
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
So me and several others were suggesting this to Corsair and it seems another company cottoned onto the idea with Aorus RGB Dummy Sticks -

https://www.pcmag.com/news/361585/pr...b-dummy-sticks

I saw this on Computex coverage and thought, it would be awesome if Corsair sold the 2x dummy sticks. It would be great to control everything in iCue!
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 08-06-2018, 01:15 PM
Paradanglers Paradanglers is offline
Registered User
Paradanglers's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: St Helens, UK
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 967338
Paradanglers Reputation: 10
Default

Any news on whether this will happen? I'll be upgrading in the next few months and was thinking of buying the Vengeance RGB pro modules until I saw the Gigabyte sets with the dummy RAM sticks. Some of us don't run a gagillion programs at once but would still like our systems to look good!
Please Corsair, make it happen!
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 11-13-2018, 03:08 PM
jewie27 jewie27 is offline
Registered User
jewie27's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: L.A.
Posts: 127
POST ID # = 980292
jewie27 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Art View Post
Helps even more when people jump on this numerous times. I'll bring it up.
any updates? i recently bought Vengeance Pro RGB Ram 8GB x 2 but would like to get 2 Dummy Modules for Moar RGB effect.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.