The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2013, 06:05 AM
jewie27 jewie27 is offline
Registered User
jewie27's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: L.A.
Posts: 127
POST ID # = 652473
jewie27 Reputation: 10
Default Accelerator Series Question

My current Operation system is running on a Corsair Force 3 120GB drive.

My steam library is on a Western Digital Caviar black.

If I install an Accelerator drive, can I dedicate it to the WD black without interfering with my Force 3 boot drive?

How much more performance will I get loading steam games off it?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-11-2013, 09:44 AM
Incriminated Incriminated is offline
Registered user
Incriminated's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 652523
Incriminated Reputation: 10
Default

Source: http://www.nvelo.com/dataplex-downlo...leaseNotes.php

Version 1.2.0.1 (09-07-2012)

1. New Features:
1.1 Support for secondary target drive.

Source: http://www.nvelo.com/dataplex-downlo...imitations.php

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

- Windows 7 only. (Windows 8 will be supported in a future release.)


LIMITATIONS

- When a boot drive is selected to be the Target Drive, the drive
must be configured as MBR (Master Boot Record).

- Multiple-Operating Systems / dual-boot configurations are not
supported.

- If the selected Target drive has the Windows installation
(C:\Windows folder), it must also have Windows System Partition
(100MB partition) on the same drive and vice-versa.

- Only one cache SSD is supported in a system.

- There cannot be two identical SSDs in the system, one of which
is to be used as cache.

- Use of RAID sets as the cache drive is not supported.

- The following configuration(s) are not supported:
-- NVIDIA storage controllers
-- VIA storage controllers
-- Adaptec storage controllers

Last edited by Incriminated; 05-11-2013 at 09:47 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-11-2013, 09:53 AM
Incriminated Incriminated is offline
Registered user
Incriminated's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 152
POST ID # = 652528
Incriminated Reputation: 10
Default

Another easier way would be to copy the steam folder with data to your primary SSD and symlink that folder to the original Steam location, so Steam would NOT notice that move at all:

just move (not copy) the main-folder to C:\, then open a terminal and enter:

​mklink /J "D:\Original-Steam-folder" "C:\New-Steam-Folder"

(Replace with your correct locations!!!)

Last edited by Incriminated; 05-11-2013 at 02:55 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.