The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2019, 04:23 AM
Noah_The_Blob Noah_The_Blob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 991398
Noah_The_Blob Reputation: 10
Default 500D SE RGB 360mm radiator up top.

Hello people of the Corsair forum :)

I've been considering to buy a new PC, and the 500D SE RGB seemed to be the perfect case. However, as i'm going to be doing a custom loop, i need to clear up some things first. First of all, i'm going to use a E-ATX mobo, which shouldn't be a problem though, i'm not afraid of power tools. The other concern i've had is radiator mounting. I was going to use one XE 360 at the front and a PE 360 up top, however as i've read, you can only mount a 280mm at the top. This kind of disappointed me because i'm pretty sure it would fit. I'm considering modding a 500D so i can install the 360, however i'm not entirely sure if that will even be possible, if there is enough space and if it is strong enough to support a 2kg radiator. Anyone got any tips?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-30-2019, 12:58 AM
Hockster2's Avatar
Hockster2 Hockster2 is offline
Chronic Upgrader
Hockster2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 138
POST ID # = 991853
Hockster2 Reputation: 10
Default

You might be able to use the front fan tray in the the top. I thought about it but clearance to the mobo would be extremely tight with a rad and fans. This case is a lot more form over function. With a custom loop and an EATX board I'd recommend a different case. The 500 is based on a fairly old design. I'm planning to move my system into a Lian Li PC011 Dynamic. Just need a sucker to buy this 500, it's too expensive to sit in the closet unused.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-30-2019, 04:10 AM
Dajinn Dajinn is offline
Registered User
Dajinn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 991866
Dajinn Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah the 500d is not really that great. You can fit 3 120 fans up top. I bought an extra front fan bracket and installed it. I just don't know how it would work out with a radiator.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-04-2019, 09:24 AM
Alcasczar Alcasczar is offline
RGB Lunatic
Alcasczar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairport NY
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 992597
Alcasczar Reputation: 10
Default

I ran into some issues with the 500D SE for my gaming rig, I didn't want to chance modding it cause I suck with those things. Instead I got a Cooler Master Cosmos C700M. I would of bought a Corsair but they don't have anything between the super tower and midtower that are modern. It seems their full tower line of cases could use some updates :P
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-04-2019, 08:07 PM
Hockster2's Avatar
Hockster2 Hockster2 is offline
Chronic Upgrader
Hockster2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 138
POST ID # = 992689
Hockster2 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dajinn View Post
Yeah the 500d is not really that great. You can fit 3 120 fans up top. I bought an extra front fan bracket and installed it. I just don't know how it would work out with a radiator.
Do you happen to have the link for the fan bracket? I'm thinking of doing the same for mine.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-05-2019, 04:51 PM
Giubba Giubba is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 992775
Giubba Reputation: 10
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noah_The_Blob View Post
Hello people of the Corsair forum :)

I've been considering to buy a new PC, and the 500D SE RGB seemed to be the perfect case. However, as i'm going to be doing a custom loop, i need to clear up some things first. First of all, i'm going to use a E-ATX mobo, which shouldn't be a problem though, i'm not afraid of power tools. The other concern i've had is radiator mounting. I was going to use one XE 360 at the front and a PE 360 up top, however as i've read, you can only mount a 280mm at the top. This kind of disappointed me because i'm pretty sure it would fit. I'm considering modding a 500D so i can install the 360, however i'm not entirely sure if that will even be possible, if there is enough space and if it is strong enough to support a 2kg radiator. Anyone got any tips?
Sorry if I add my question but in top side of the obsidian 500d can you mount a Hydro Series H115i RGB PLATINUM ?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-05-2019, 05:52 PM
RiverM RiverM is online now
Registered User
RiverM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 992780
RiverM Reputation: 10
Default

I have the 500D, non SE, and swapped the top 280 fan/cooler mount plate with the front 360 fan/cooler mount plate to have two 140 openings for my front mount h115i pro instead of three 120 openings which would likely impede airflow with smaller openings. The mount plates were the same otherwise except for the top one having some pre-installed dense foam tape to maybe stop a rattle, so I added some to the 360 plate too in the same spot.

There is about 16 inches, 406mm, between the rear exhaust fan mount and the case front i/o cables as bent as they can be on the 500D. There is about 50mm of height distance between the top inner fan/cooler mount face and the top of the rear exhaust fan mount and about 57mm height distance from the same fan/cooler mount face to the top of an installed ATX motherboard. I think a cooler and fans itself would fit up top, but not sure about fittings and hoses at the rear, or front if a 360 rad is installed in the front. It's as if you need to compromise by swapping one 360 and one 240/280 at either location. Both fan/cooler plates are one piece each, no rivets, and mount with two thumb screws on one side and have pressed tabs that align into recessed square holes on the other side and end up in a fixed position with no slots for adjustable movement up or down, forward or back when installed; they are stout. If concerned with weight up top you could maybe replace the thumb screws with through bolts and washers/nuts at the back with a minor case mod but even small threaded bolts can hold way more than one thinks possible unless under extreme dynamic loads.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-05-2019, 05:55 PM
Giubba Giubba is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 992782
Giubba Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you very much for the answer
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-17-2019, 01:34 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,568
POST ID # = 994583
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockster2 View Post
Do you happen to have the link for the fan bracket? I'm thinking of doing the same for mine.

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...y/p/CC-8900038
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.