The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2018, 09:25 AM
Hannibal Lecter Hannibal Lecter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 959175
Hannibal Lecter Reputation: 10
Question Corsair 1000D Radiator compatibility

I would like to know the max radiator width available using the radiator tray.

Looking at the tray the space between the 2 radiators seems quite small. The few build I have seen so far are using alphacool radiators that are rather narrow.

However HWLabs nemesis GTX, SR2 or EK XE series are up to 134 mm wide.
Can someone at Corsair or maybe a current owner let me know if the above radiators fit in the 1000D.

Finally, is it possible to buy an additional 4x120 tray to replace the one on top and have 2x360 at the top and 2x480 at the front?

Thanks

Last edited by Hannibal Lecter; 06-16-2018 at 08:35 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-23-2018, 10:48 PM
brunob brunob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 960482
brunob Reputation: 10
Default

I'm curious about the same thing I'm looking into getting hardware labs sr2 480mm x4 but I'm not sure if the case is wide enough to fit 2 side by side on top and front.

Any thoughts?

Last edited by brunob; 06-23-2018 at 10:54 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-28-2018, 12:31 PM
aznsniper911 aznsniper911 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 961196
aznsniper911 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannibal Lecter View Post
I would like to know the max radiator width available using the radiator tray.

Looking at the tray the space between the 2 radiators seems quite small. The few build I have seen so far are using alphacool radiators that are rather narrow.

However HWLabs nemesis GTX, SR2 or EK XE series are up to 134 mm wide.
Can someone at Corsair or maybe a current owner let me know if the above radiators fit in the 1000D.

Finally, is it possible to buy an additional 4x120 tray to replace the one on top and have 2x360 at the top and 2x480 at the front?

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunob View Post
I'm curious about the same thing I'm looking into getting hardware labs sr2 480mm x4 but I'm not sure if the case is wide enough to fit 2 side by side on top and front.

Any thoughts?
As a owner who just put GTR in, it won’t fit properly, you don’t have the width space.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-28-2018, 12:48 PM
Corsair Caliente Corsair Caliente is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 961201
Corsair Caliente Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannibal Lecter View Post
Finally, is it possible to buy an additional 4x120 tray to replace the one on top and have 2x360 at the top and 2x480 at the front?
You won't be able to fit another 4 x 120 Fan tray up top BUT you can purchase a second 8x 120 Fan Tray and install it up there.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-28-2018, 12:59 PM
aznsniper911 aznsniper911 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 961205
aznsniper911 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Caliente View Post
You won't be able to fit another 4 x 120 Fan tray up top BUT you can purchase a second 8x 120 Fan Tray and install it up there.
Can confirm that if you purhcase the second 8 x 120mm, you can put 2x 360mm radiator ontop and 2x 480mm radiator on the front. I can also confirm that depending on your height of your front radiator and thickness in your top radiator that you can put 4 x 480mm radiator (which I'm doing now)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-29-2018, 09:32 AM
Hannibal Lecter Hannibal Lecter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 961324
Hannibal Lecter Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for the replies.

So basically I have to use Alphacool or other narrow radiators to fit in the trays. So HWL, EK and XSPC radiators are out of the question.

Using the tray image to measure the space between radiators (knowing that screw spacing for a 120mm fan is 105mm), it looks like the max width for a radiator using the tray is 126mm. So only 2x Alphacool ut60 480, 2x Bitspower Leviathan XF 480 or 2x Coolgate 480 can fit in this tray...

That's really annoying and seems like a curious oversight from Corsair for such a wide case

If you currently own this case do you think the trays can be modded to fit all radiators?

Thanks

Last edited by Hannibal Lecter; 06-29-2018 at 10:20 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-29-2018, 12:41 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 665
POST ID # = 961357
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannibal Lecter View Post
Thank you for the replies.

So basically I have to use Alphacool or other narrow radiators to fit in the trays. So HWL, EK and XSPC radiators are out of the question.

Using the tray image to measure the space between radiators (knowing that screw spacing for a 120mm fan is 105mm), it looks like the max width for a radiator using the tray is 126mm. So only 2x Alphacool ut60 480, 2x Bitspower Leviathan XF 480 or 2x Coolgate 480 can fit in this tray...

That's really annoying and seems like a curious oversight from Corsair for such a wide case

If you currently own this case do you think the trays can be modded to fit all radiators?

Thanks
Anything is possible with a little bit of elbow grease. Months ago when I built my system I had to use a drill and tins nips to get my case the way I wanted it. I have no first hand experience with the 1000D, though a limiting factor is the fan tray cut outs. Usually the limiting factor with a custom loop's rad is the length overall. The end caps can bump into things and might not always work, even when you figured out the math. Some companies get more performance out of the rads by making them a little wider, Hardware Labs for instance. Water cooling in general is kind of an outlier, having a double wide is even more so.

You can always try to fabricate things, I bet there is room, though it might not be that easy. You would have to be comfortable doing this type of mod. It is just hard to account for everything as there is no standard sizing in radiators, other than the size of fans they take.

BTW If you are in the US, there some killer holiday sales going on FrozenCpu has a 20% sale and PPCs has 12%. It is a good time to stock up on rads, fittings, etc. I tend to put a shopping list as they only do sales around US holidays as custom water cooling is not cheap :(
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-29-2018, 01:29 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 665
POST ID # = 961362
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannibal Lecter View Post
Thank you for the replies.

So basically I have to use Alphacool or other narrow radiators to fit in the trays. So HWL, EK and XSPC radiators are out of the question.

Using the tray image to measure the space between radiators (knowing that screw spacing for a 120mm fan is 105mm), it looks like the max width for a radiator using the tray is 126mm. So only 2x Alphacool ut60 480, 2x Bitspower Leviathan XF 480 or 2x Coolgate 480 can fit in this tray...

That's really annoying and seems like a curious oversight from Corsair for such a wide case

If you currently own this case do you think the trays can be modded to fit all radiators?

Thanks
By the way, here is a list of Rads I was analyzing these are the core sizes, so the overall width will be different. Though it should give you a good relative idea of should be small enough to fit into your rad trays, if you don't want to go mod crazy. Just make sure you double check and look at the overall width, before you buy.

Attached Images
File Type: png radcomp.PNG (13.9 KB, 886 views)
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-29-2018, 02:58 PM
Hannibal Lecter Hannibal Lecter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 961373
Hannibal Lecter Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you all for the info.

However I just saw a Korean youtube video showing 2x 480 EK radiators using the front 1000D tray
. I don't speak Korean but it's self explanatory. So maybe there's some hope

It would be nice if someone from Corsair could chime in and let us know for sure what radiators we can use.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-29-2018, 03:31 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 665
POST ID # = 961380
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannibal Lecter View Post
Thank you all for the info.

However I just saw a Korean youtube video showing 2x 480 EK radiators using the front 1000D tray https://youtu.be/JTp9SyZHex4?t=130. I don't speak Korean but it's self explanatory. So maybe there's some hope

It would be nice if someone from Corsair could chime in and let us know for sure what radiators we can use.
I am at work so I can't view it right now. Extreme rigs, brought a lot of love with their good tests of the HW Labs radiators. I love my HW Labs GTS 360, though if I was going to build a system in a case that could house a small family, I would use a low density FPI Radiator. Assuming you have looked at xtreme rigs, you will see that low FPI rads out perform denser rads for fans at low RPMs. If you doing a build with two systems with 4x480mm rads and a total of 4 blocks, you are already doubling the rule of thumb.

With your size, I would consider a lot of options and I would highly consider looking at the push or push/pull low RPM graphs to help make you decide. There is no best, it is all relative. The question, is what is best for your situation? With that amount of cooling area, if you set your fan curves properly, you will not see them spin fast enough to benefit you at higher RPMs of 1300 or 1850.



__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-29-2018, 05:53 PM
Hannibal Lecter Hannibal Lecter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 961404
Hannibal Lecter Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks.

I have seen these tests and I own 2 nemesis GTX480. I love these radiators, they can be used with very low spinning fans and work equally well when you increase the revs. And the build quality is really good. I have had swiftech rads and EK rads (both good) but HWL radiators are just really better made.

I was going to buy either 2 more GTX 480 or 2 GTX 360, that's why I need to know if they can fit or if I will need to mod the tray.

Hopefully an owner of the 1000D or someone from Corsair can give me the exact dimension of the tray or, even better if two HWL radiators can fit.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-30-2018, 07:46 AM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 665
POST ID # = 961478
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannibal Lecter View Post
Thanks.

I have seen these tests and I own 2 nemesis GTX480. I love these radiators, they can be used with very low spinning fans and work equally well when you increase the revs. And the build quality is really good. I have had swiftech rads and EK rads (both good) but HWL radiators are just really better made.

I was going to buy either 2 more GTX 480 or 2 GTX 360, that's why I need to know if they can fit or if I will need to mod the tray.

Hopefully an owner of the 1000D or someone from Corsair can give me the exact dimension of the tray or, even better if two HWL radiators can fit.
Do you need detail measurements, do you already have the case? I to agree that HW Labs build quality is amazing. Other rads fins bend easily when u are installing them. Both Switech and Magicool have some bent fins, not my HW Labs.

I don't think u will get this detailed info from Corsair, you might be able to get details from a fellow builder.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-30-2018, 09:11 AM
Hannibal Lecter Hannibal Lecter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 961487
Hannibal Lecter Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarity View Post
Do you need detail measurements, do you already have the case? I to agree that HW Labs build quality is amazing. Other rads fins bend easily when u are installing them. Both Switech and Magicool have some bent fins, not my HW Labs.

I don't think u will get this detailed info from Corsair, you might be able to get details from a fellow builder.
I don't own the case yet. I need to find out if I can use my rads with it. If you do own the 1000D, could you measure the tray please or maybe find out if 2 of your HWL rads fit in there?

Thanks a lot for your help
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 06-30-2018, 04:11 PM
brunob brunob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 961552
brunob Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannibal Lecter View Post
I don't own the case yet. I need to find out if I can use my rads with it. If you do own the 1000D, could you measure the tray please or maybe find out if 2 of your HWL rads fit in there?

Thanks a lot for your help

Hi, I got the case recently and also decided to go 4x480s, I am using HWLabs 480GTS they are definitely too wide for the trays(4-5mm extra) due to side bends.
However, I cut them and was able to fit width wise. Also, I noticed that it's not possible to do 40mm+ rads top and front due to rad height. my GTS fits with about 7-8mm left(only using push with Corsair LL 120's)
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 06-30-2018, 06:36 PM
Hannibal Lecter Hannibal Lecter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 961565
Hannibal Lecter Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brunob View Post
Hi, I got the case recently and also decided to go 4x480s, I am using HWLabs 480GTS they are definitely too wide for the trays(4-5mm extra) due to side bends.
However, I cut them and was able to fit width wise. Also, I noticed that it's not possible to do 40mm+ rads top and front due to rad height. my GTS fits with about 7-8mm left(only using push with Corsair LL 120's)
Thanks!!

So 2x 480 push or pull + rads on top and 2x 480 push or pull in front is possible?

If so I am buying the case!!

With 4x 480 I don't think you need the rads in push/pull configuration
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
1000d, radiator mount options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.