The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2019, 11:43 AM
AdamWes AdamWes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1008646
AdamWes Reputation: 10
Default iCue/Commander Pro, FAN RPM

I finally got my Commander pro and I am loving it. Just had a question with regards to FAN speeds. In the vids I watched it said they can be controlled right down to OFF. No matter what I set my RPM at, the fans do not drop below 600RPM. Even if I set them at 500RPM fixed, they still run between 600 & 700 RPM. I cannot get them to go any lower, certainly not OFF.

What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2019, 01:05 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1008660
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

You need to setup a custom profile with one of the temperature thermistor's that came with the CoPro I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2019, 01:14 PM
AdamWes AdamWes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1008664
AdamWes Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gronar View Post
You need to setup a custom profile with one of the temperature thermistor's that came with the CoPro I believe.
Thanks for the reply!

I have set up a custom profile, but that is really odd that you would need a thermal probe just to manually drop fan RPMs. I won't be using them as I have no need for them. I was hoping to be able to at least shut 1 fan off when it isn't needed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2019, 03:53 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1008688
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWes View Post
Thanks for the reply!

I have set up a custom profile, but that is really odd that you would need a thermal probe just to manually drop fan RPMs. I won't be using them as I have no need for them. I was hoping to be able to at least shut 1 fan off when it isn't needed.
I too have not used the ones that came with both of my copro's so I'm not sure if they are needed or not. I know that I've seen some profiles drop my ML fan to zero RPM but don't think the LL's will do it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2019, 07:47 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,479
POST ID # = 1008711
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

It does not have to be the one of the native temp probes, although anything else will require iCUE running to enforce. I just set my case fans to the m.2 drive temp read through the board and they shutdown below the prescribed 40C.

You haven't listed your fans, although taking a guess you have HD or LL that have minimum speeds in the low to mid 600s. That is as low as they go, until you cut them off entirely. That is not related to the controller but the fan motor.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2019, 07:29 AM
AdamWes AdamWes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1008754
AdamWes Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply guys .. seems I found the issue. The LL fans are not capable of running much below 700RPM, which kinda sucks. Guess I have to deal with it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2019, 12:36 PM
AdamWes AdamWes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1008803
AdamWes Reputation: 10
Default

Looks like I was wrong, the LL fans can be driven right down to 0RPM. However, in iCUE, when using the "Fixed RPM" setting they won't go below 700. When using a custom curve they will go all the way down to 0! This is good :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.