The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2018, 05:58 AM
Swaggy-Mcyolo Swaggy-Mcyolo is offline
Registered User
Swaggy-Mcyolo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 944422
Swaggy-Mcyolo Reputation: 10
Default H115i Mounting Issue / need Washers?

Hey People,

I have a corsair H115i + 7700K(not delidded) on a MSI Z270 Krait.

My temps hit the 90's and can go to 100+, I haven't OC'd and my voltages are way higher then most peoples, room temperature is around 21-22 degrees most days.


I have 2 x 140m Noctua NF-A14 PWM 140mm Fan

Voltage @ 1.14vore OVERIDE and goes up to 1.16 according to cpu-z
Fans are set to 100% when at 80 degrees +
Fans are setup to exhaust air out of the case.

Ive taken the cpu mount off and reapplied some nocteu thermal paste (line method) and the temps dropped slightly but still hitting the high 90's with P95

I can see there's a gap on the back of the mobo for the mounting bracket, not sure if that's by design and it's fine, or i'm meant to put washers in there to have less space between the mobo and bracket.

I've read the H100's had an issue and just checking if the H115i has the same issue which can be resolved via washers?

Any Information would be appreciated.
You will see the gap in the photo's i've attached.

Cheers :)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180312_204827.jpg (787.1 KB, 239 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180312_204906.jpg (683.4 KB, 260 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-12-2018, 07:56 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,128
POST ID # = 944433
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Those folks with the "issue" that required washers?

Yeah ... they didn't need them and didn't bother to check with anyone that knows the system well. Don't do it. Before installing the cooler, the bracket will be a little loose. It should tighten down when you fully mount the cooler as long as you are using the correct standoffs.

After mounting, is the unit tight against the CPU? Once its mounted, do you feel it wiggle? What are your temperatures at idle vs load?

The voltages that you listed are actually under spec; are you sure that you are seeing those voltages? Look in Link for VCPU ... or another monitoring tool for vCore.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-12-2018, 08:35 AM
Swaggy-Mcyolo Swaggy-Mcyolo is offline
Registered User
Swaggy-Mcyolo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 944436
Swaggy-Mcyolo Reputation: 10
Default

Good to know I shouldn't go down the washer route ;)
The unit is tight against the CPU and the backplate mount doesn't budge when it's all screwed in, Idle temps are 40ish Celcius, load in games is around 84-86c. P95 hits high 90's
According to cpuz the CPU voltage is 1.16, I set it to override so it's at 1.14.

Bios is latest for my mobile model fyi.

Just not sure how the hell it's so high W low af voltage..
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-12-2018, 09:30 AM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,471
POST ID # = 944442
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Presumably the H115i Temp (coolant temperature) is also low? If so, that does seem like a contact issue.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-13-2018, 03:26 AM
Swaggy-Mcyolo Swaggy-Mcyolo is offline
Registered User
Swaggy-Mcyolo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 944600
Swaggy-Mcyolo Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, could be contact but the cpu mount is on tight, the backs on tight and doesn't budge when i try to move it.

Hopefully the back mount looks okay from the previous photos put on.

Check out these temps, one of the cores is way lower too which is probably what it should be at.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hotaf.JPG (109.1 KB, 227 views)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-13-2018, 07:13 AM
Swaggy-Mcyolo Swaggy-Mcyolo is offline
Registered User
Swaggy-Mcyolo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 944618
Swaggy-Mcyolo Reputation: 10
Default

Update.
Took photo of mounting bracket on the back.
I hope it's wrong so that would be the issue.

Please advise,
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180313_220911.jpg (2.77 MB, 376 views)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-13-2018, 08:07 AM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,471
POST ID # = 944620
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

OK, well good news, bad news. I can see the problem now. Your H115i coolant temp is 50C. So the next question is what's going on with the fans. They read zero in Link, but that would be normal if they are connected to the motherboard and not the H115i Pump controller. Assuming they are running, the pump is maxed and thus power to the unit does not seem to be the issue. That leaves some type of internal blockage as the most likely problem and you need a replacement.

Contact Corsair tech support to start the RMA process. If you are in dire straights and can't do any downtime, you may have to consider a new cooler and to use the replacement as an emergency back up or for some other use.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-13-2018, 01:38 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,313
POST ID # = 944683
Greybeard Reputation: 14
Default

Backplate looks good to me. If you have full contact between the CPU and pump (the pump block shouldn't be moving all) while you're CPU temp and coolant temp are way above the expected range, then it is most likely a defect on the cooler.

Have you tried reseating the pump just to be sure?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-13-2018, 05:30 PM
Swaggy-Mcyolo Swaggy-Mcyolo is offline
Registered User
Swaggy-Mcyolo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 944710
Swaggy-Mcyolo Reputation: 10
Default

I've removed and reattached the CPU block.
The fans are going into the mobo headers not corsair link.

The pumps temp gets to those temps after 10+ minutes of testing.

So it's RMA..I don't even have the box for the unit. ��
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-13-2018, 05:48 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,471
POST ID # = 944713
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Sorry, then it definitely a cooler issue. You should not see 50C coolant temps except when faced with huge internal ambient temps, usually from another source.

I am not sure the box is required, but that is something Support would need to answer.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-14-2018, 05:35 AM
Swaggy-Mcyolo Swaggy-Mcyolo is offline
Registered User
Swaggy-Mcyolo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 944771
Swaggy-Mcyolo Reputation: 10
Default

I logged a case with Corsair support, ill see how it goes.
Hope they dont get me to do anymore testing, I already put the stock intel heatsink on.
Yeahh.. i get the same temps with the stock heatsink for a 7700K..
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-14-2018, 09:28 AM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,471
POST ID # = 944779
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

Use the screen shot of Link from above -- the one with the 49.x H115i Temp. In your ticket, make sure you specifically tell mention the 50C coolant temp. Presumably, your CPU and coolant temps are also very, very slow to cool down after reaching this point. The inability of the cooler to remove heat from the coolant stream after any kind of load is indicative of the problem and what separates it from voltage or contact issues. You don't get a 50C coolant temp with any kind of contact issue and even extreme voltage would cause CPU shutdown before you could raise the coolant temp +30C in a working system.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-14-2018, 07:45 PM
Swaggy-Mcyolo Swaggy-Mcyolo is offline
Registered User
Swaggy-Mcyolo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 944840
Swaggy-Mcyolo Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah I added the link photo you mentioned as well as the backplate position, should be enough.

We shall see
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
7700k, h115i, high temps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.