The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2012, 02:24 PM
Kumorigoe Kumorigoe is offline
Registered User
Kumorigoe's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 613907
Kumorigoe Reputation: 10
Post 6GB 1333 plus 6GB 1600 equals crash?

Hello all. As bad as I feel making my first post here a problematic one, I need some advice.

As my specs indicate, I'm running half and half of 1600 and 1333 Mhz RAM. I installed the slower RAM almost a year ago, having recieved it as a gift. Everything has been fine until a couple of weeks ago.

I have been experiencing BSODs when playing games. Doesn't seem to matter if I'm playing on three screens or one, graphically intense or not. I broke out the diagnostics and went to work.

PC Check froze during the memory portion of a full-system test. I rebooted and tried testing just the RAM. That test finished with no errors. A subsequent stress test also finished.

I have ordered CMT12GX3M3A2000C9 as a precaution, thinking that speed and latency differences in the RAM modules could be a problem. My CPU and GPU are overclocked, but teperature monitoring software doesn't indicate excessive heat problems. Still, I realize that the OC may be a problem.

My new RAM should arrive today. I'm thinking that even if my problems turn out to be something else that I'll keep it anyway, because it will run faster and leave me open to maxing out the board at 24GB.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Nothing more annoying than getting really into a game and then losing your progress due to a crash....
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-16-2012, 02:46 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 613923
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Mixing memory can be hit or miss especially mixing different part numbers or different manufacturers. I would suggest just removing the DDR1333 memory and load setup defaults and enable XMP and see if the system is stable with www.memtest.org.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-16-2012, 04:13 PM
Kumorigoe Kumorigoe is offline
Registered User
Kumorigoe's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 613958
Kumorigoe Reputation: 10
Default

I'll do that. Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-16-2012, 06:51 PM
Kumorigoe Kumorigoe is offline
Registered User
Kumorigoe's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 613989
Kumorigoe Reputation: 10
Default

Okay, seems I was wrong on the speeds. All my modules are 1600Mhz, but three are at 8-8-8-24 and three are at 9-9-9-24 latencies. Running memtest now.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-17-2012, 09:25 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 614079
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

They are still completely different modules , regardless of speed.

You can try running them at 1333mhz at the 9-9-9-24 settings and see if they will run together that way.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
bsod, compatibility issues, crash, errors, ram

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.