The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2018, 02:44 AM
Remorph Remorph is offline
Registered User
Remorph's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 985317
Remorph Reputation: 10
Default H115i RGB still powered on shutdown

Hello corsair forum.



I just installed my new H115i on my Asus z370-g mobo and the led's on the aio wont stop reciving power when the pc is shutdown. I disabled fast boot and enabled ErP Ready for s4+s5 in bios. It is even still powered when the PSU is shtoff and the cable is plugged out. Does anyone have a fix for this, as i would like to sleep without my room lighting up in red.



Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-14-2018, 08:47 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,088
POST ID # = 985345
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

That's quite odd. It's not a device thing though - it doesn't have a battery. Somehow, someway, it's still getting power from the SATA connection. There's no other way that this could happen.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-14-2018, 02:15 PM
Remorph Remorph is offline
Registered User
Remorph's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 985389
Remorph Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
That's quite odd. It's not a device thing though - it doesn't have a battery. Somehow, someway, it's still getting power from the SATA connection. There's no other way that this could happen.
Thanks for the repley.
Its now been 10 hours since i shutdown the computer and unplugged the psu and its still going strong. Do you think that it might be a PSU problem? I would hate to manually unplug the satapower from the AIO when i log off. Also, why havent corsair implemented a "turn off on shutdown" like Aura has done with my mobo rgb.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-14-2018, 03:05 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,088
POST ID # = 985392
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

It turns off when it doesn't get any power. That should happen at shutdown. The motherboard needs a separate setting for that because it will still get +5V power on standby. But a SATA device doesn't need that.

So yes, I would look at your PSU. Somehow, the cooler is getting power on the SATA +5V rail. If your PSU is shut off at the switch, that shouldn't be happening. If it's unplugged, that really shouldn't be happening.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-15-2018, 01:04 AM
Remorph Remorph is offline
Registered User
Remorph's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 985485
Remorph Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
It turns off when it doesn't get any power. That should happen at shutdown. The motherboard needs a separate setting for that because it will still get +5V power on standby. But a SATA device doesn't need that.

So yes, I would look at your PSU. Somehow, the cooler is getting power on the SATA +5V rail. If your PSU is shut off at the switch, that shouldn't be happening. If it's unplugged, that really shouldn't be happening.
I posted a thread on another forum too and one of them said that the caps on the mobo still offers power to the usb connections even with psu turned off. Doesnt the cooler get the power from the sata and not the usb?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-15-2018, 02:03 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,088
POST ID # = 985487
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Yes, the power for the LEDs comes from the SATA power, not the USB.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-20-2018, 05:35 AM
Remorph Remorph is offline
Registered User
Remorph's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 986286
Remorph Reputation: 10
Default

Hey DevBiker.

I noticed that my xbox controller is ligthening up when s4+s4 erp is on. My keyboard does only occoasinally light up with it turned up. Does this all come down to a bad mobo or is my whole system just broken from factory.. also the pump does some very annoying noises, almost like coilwhine
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-20-2018, 09:07 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,088
POST ID # = 986306
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

I suspect it has something to do with the ErP setting. It's a bit mysterious to me so I can't even begin to give you guidance on it ... but I've seen it mentioned in other places as well.

I don't think that it's a bad anything ... just a configuration tweak that needs to be figured out.

As for the noise ... I can't tell you. The pumps do make noise - that's unavoidable - but usually it isn't very noticeable, especially when fans are running.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-20-2018, 10:33 AM
Remorph Remorph is offline
Registered User
Remorph's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 986317
Remorph Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you very much for your help.

I submitted a ticket with corsair support about the pump. I can hear the noise 2 meters away with the system running in my fractal design meshify c mini
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-27-2018, 03:08 AM
Nbols Nbols is offline
Registered User
Nbols's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 987136
Nbols Reputation: 10
Default

Hello,

I had the exact same thing and it turned out to be the erp setting in the BIOS. It was on Auto but needed to be on “enabled” specifically.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-16-2019, 02:55 PM
Remorph Remorph is offline
Registered User
Remorph's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 1001647
Remorph Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
I suspect it has something to do with the ErP setting. It's a bit mysterious to me so I can't even begin to give you guidance on it ... but I've seen it mentioned in other places as well.

I don't think that it's a bad anything ... just a configuration tweak that needs to be figured out.

As for the noise ... I can't tell you. The pumps do make noise - that's unavoidable - but usually it isn't very noticeable, especially when fans are running.
I got the H115i platinum RMA with my k95 keyboard (im so unlucky when it comes to broken upon arrivals). Anyways, i found out that the new DisplayPort cable i bought kept the H115i's lights on when the computer was shutdown. Dont know why, but i've gone back to my old (but broken) cable again.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
aio, h115i, power, rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.