The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Systems > CORSAIR ONE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2018, 06:20 PM
kcnicho kcnicho is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 958520
kcnicho Reputation: 10
Default New Corsair One Elite BSOD twice in 3 days - Should I be worried?

Hey Folks,

Just got a new Corsair One Elite delivered 3 days ago. Amazing machine! Beautiful, quiet, very solid & compact piece of computing machinery. Love the design!

One thing that concerns me: I've had two BSOD events in the last 3 days, both while playing graphically intensive games (one on HTC Vive Pro, one Sniper Elite 4, max settings.) The machine just suddenly shows a blue screen, then reboots. Looking at the event viewer, I see two critical errors listed at the time these happened that say: "Kernel-Power".

I've tried to monitor graphics card temps, and they don't seem to go over ~ 73 Deg C. That said, the fan sounds like its running full speed. A related concern I have is that (I think) the One Elite has a 500W power supply, but nVidia recommends minimum 600W PSU (per the GTX 1080 Ti user guide.) Could this be a possible cause?

Running DisplayPort 2560x1600 monitor (just one), have latest nVidia drivers, and latest Win 10 updates. Have not updated any BIOS or other MoBo stuff (a little reluctant to do that, have read posts about dead video after update.) Stock out-of-the-box Corsair One Elite.

Should I be worried? Should I submit a ticket? Hate to part with this thing so soon.

- Kevin

Last edited by kcnicho; 06-10-2018 at 06:22 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-10-2018, 09:15 PM
maserowik maserowik is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 958534
maserowik Reputation: 10
Default

you may have the issue with the PCI-E ribbon cable.
I just went through the RMA process.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-11-2018, 12:36 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 544
POST ID # = 958608
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

what maserowik said. Do let me know if you have any issue and I would be more than happy to help.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-11-2018, 01:07 PM
kcnicho kcnicho is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 958616
kcnicho Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the fast replies!

It seems to be running fine on lower stress applications or games. I need to run some of my more challenging programs, for a longer time, to see if this is a "one-off" issue, or if it's something that is going to continue to happen.

Can either of you let me know what specific tests I might run to identify if this (PCI-E ribbon cable) is the problem? Is it software that I can download to do this test?

I have a computer engineering degree, and I do electronics hardware design at work, so I'm comfortable with digging into the case if I have to, but honestly I'd rather not do that if it might void my warranty, and really it shouldn't need it at this point.

Thanks for your help!

- Kevin
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-11-2018, 03:59 PM
CMBoss CMBoss is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 958643
CMBoss Reputation: 10
Default

check if ur overclocked, u can reset cmos and start over with default bios and monitor it.

i should think the elite models are free from ribbon issue, i maybe wrong
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-11-2018, 05:22 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 544
POST ID # = 958657
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcnicho View Post
Thanks for the fast replies!

It seems to be running fine on lower stress applications or games. I need to run some of my more challenging programs, for a longer time, to see if this is a "one-off" issue, or if it's something that is going to continue to happen.

Can either of you let me know what specific tests I might run to identify if this (PCI-E ribbon cable) is the problem? Is it software that I can download to do this test?

I have a computer engineering degree, and I do electronics hardware design at work, so I'm comfortable with digging into the case if I have to, but honestly I'd rather not do that if it might void my warranty, and really it shouldn't need it at this point.

Thanks for your help!

- Kevin
The ribbon cable issue ties back to EMI, the cable in some units are not shielded properly, so the symptom won't be consistent, hence why it's hard to catch during factory testing. I still recommend getting a replacement.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-24-2018, 06:54 PM
kcnicho kcnicho is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 960583
kcnicho Reputation: 10
Sad

Well, thought it might just be a one time thing, but it just died again, this time during Anno 2205. Fans were running moderately, then all screens suddenly went black (I added 2 screens) and fans went full on.
Music from game still playing, but all black screens. Rebooted, and now graphics only show up on one of my side screens. Rebooted several times, and only get single screen active.

So, very sadly, I will have to get a support ticket and send this in. Will get a ticket going.

- Kevin
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-25-2018, 06:55 PM
kcnicho kcnicho is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 960764
kcnicho Reputation: 10
Default

It appears the GTX 1080Ti is dead (or, mostly dead.) It does not appear in the Corsair Link utility, or the Corsair One Diagnostics. Since I do have a single monitor working apparently there is a low level display mode that still works.

Have not heard from Support on my ticket yet. I did purchase this through Amazon, and my window for return of defective equipment is closing quickly, so I may just have to return it to them for a refund.

I hate to do that because there are no Corsair One Elite models available, and I really do like this machine and would like to keep it. Just wish you folks had better quality control so these types of problems wouldn't get out into the field.

Had 15% one star reviews on Amazon due to quality issues, and I never (usually) buy anything with that high of one star reviews, so I knew there was a risk, I guess I was crossing my fingers hoping I'd get a "good one".

You guys have a really great concept here, I hope you can work the bugs out, it would be amazing!

- Kevin
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-25-2018, 07:09 PM
kcnicho kcnicho is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 960766
kcnicho Reputation: 10
Default

Update: Got an email from Support as soon as I submitted the previous response. Suggested clearing CMOS, which I did, and which brought back my nVidia card, and 3 screens.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-26-2018, 04:00 AM
CMBoss CMBoss is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 960814
CMBoss Reputation: 10
Default

i suggested that earlier if u read up, but apparently u didnt try
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-26-2018, 06:21 AM
kcnicho kcnicho is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 960821
kcnicho Reputation: 10
Default

> CMBoss: Sorry, I didn't try it until directed by the support person. As i hope to get my money back at this point, I'm hesitant to try anything without some proof I've been directed by their support team (I know, a bit paranoid, but $3k is a lot of money.) I had not done any manual configuration of overclocking, it was straight out of the box.

Turns out, doing a CMOS reset worked once. After about 20 min, the displays shut down again, all screens blank (but audio still playing.) Now I cannot get any display at all, even after multiple "reset CMOS" attempts, and leaving unit unplugged for several hours. I think I can also detect a faint "burned electronics" smell. I'll try leaving it running for a while, and see what happens, but I'm guessing something pretty major has occurred. Probably best to just return this one to the store I purchased it from, and get a refund

As I said before, I love the design, the nice solid feel, the dual liquid cooling scheme, and especially the compact size & quiet operation. The gaming rigs that some other companies produce look like a nightmare, all angles, lights, flash & "chrome", targeted to teens apparently. The Corsair One was a much better aesthetic design (IMHO) but there are just too many QC problems. Read these forums, read the Amazon reviews, etc. So, I took a chance and got bit, lesson learned.

I'll look forward to "Corsair One Elite, Version II" if/when it comes out. There's always a learning process for a new design. These are some of the risks you take when you're an early adopter.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-26-2018, 01:29 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 544
POST ID # = 960896
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcnicho View Post
> CMBoss: Sorry, I didn't try it until directed by the support person. As i hope to get my money back at this point, I'm hesitant to try anything without some proof I've been directed by their support team (I know, a bit paranoid, but $3k is a lot of money.) I had not done any manual configuration of overclocking, it was straight out of the box.

Turns out, doing a CMOS reset worked once. After about 20 min, the displays shut down again, all screens blank (but audio still playing.) Now I cannot get any display at all, even after multiple "reset CMOS" attempts, and leaving unit unplugged for several hours. I think I can also detect a faint "burned electronics" smell. I'll try leaving it running for a while, and see what happens, but I'm guessing something pretty major has occurred. Probably best to just return this one to the store I purchased it from, and get a refund

As I said before, I love the design, the nice solid feel, the dual liquid cooling scheme, and especially the compact size & quiet operation. The gaming rigs that some other companies produce look like a nightmare, all angles, lights, flash & "chrome", targeted to teens apparently. The Corsair One was a much better aesthetic design (IMHO) but there are just too many QC problems. Read these forums, read the Amazon reviews, etc. So, I took a chance and got bit, lesson learned.

I'll look forward to "Corsair One Elite, Version II" if/when it comes out. There's always a learning process for a new design. These are some of the risks you take when you're an early adopter.
Sorry to hear about your experience. And I feel the same way about the machine's design (: In any case, if you can PM me your ticket, I can do my best to have it properly taken care of.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 06-27-2018, 05:27 AM
CMBoss CMBoss is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 960983
CMBoss Reputation: 10
Default

there is an update by nvidia for gpu regarding displayport, install it, it helped my alienware clock 120hz which before the update struggled with issues on the corsair

http://www.nvidia.com/object/nv-uefi-update-x64.html

it could hold a key in some underlying issues u have, cos blackscreen is also mentioned in nvidia fix
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 07-01-2018, 11:15 AM
kcnicho kcnicho is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 961642
kcnicho Reputation: 10
Default

Hey Folks,

Thanks for the offers of help, but I decided to return my Corsair One Elite after less than a month to Amazon for a full refund. Just too many unacceptable Quality Control problems with this little machine, as you can see looking at any of a number of forums. I was holding out for a response from the support folks to my question that if I returned a brand new defective unit (less than 30 days old) would I be sent someone else's refurbished problem, or would I be sent a brand new unit (of course, I felt I was entitled to a brand new unit.) No answer to that question, so I returned it for a refund.

I feel sorry for any users who get stuck with faulty Corsair One's and for Corsair who may have pushed the envelope a bit too far, too fast. My last computer was an Alienware with Win Vista, and that thing lasted for ~ 8 years, so I know it's possible to make long lasting reliable computers.

I've got to say, thumbs up to Amazon for their return policy. Zero hassle, a few clicks on their return page, and the UPS guy shows up the next day, with pre-paid return shipping, and I didn't even have to print out a shipper. Wish all companies could make it that hassle-free to return defective equipment.

I sincerely hope you folks can recover from the bad publicity, as I think you have a good idea here, you just really need to do much, much better at making sure you don't ship out marginal units that are not THOROUGHLY tested. No doubt you're under a lot of business pressure, but you have a very good reputation for other components, you really need to do whatever you can to preserve that reputation.

I'm off to purchase a custom built gaming machine, which no doubt won't look as nice at the Corsair One, and will be more expensive, but I suspect will be much more reliable (fingers crossed) have much more expansion options.


Good luck!

- Kevin
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 07-02-2018, 08:36 PM
AceCannon AceCannon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 961868
AceCannon Reputation: 10
Default

I'd like to know what you end up purchasing.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
blue screen of death, bsod, power, psu, reboot

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.