The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2018, 10:15 AM
joetarps joetarps is offline
Registered User
joetarps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 947834
joetarps Reputation: 10
Default Combining sp120 and ll120

I am pretty new to rgb and fan setups and was wandering if I can combine having ll120s on the front of my 460x and have sp120s inside controlling them all through link. Eventually I will get all ll120s but can't afford it at this point.
If this is possible I was wandering what exactly I will need to do it.

I also have a corsair h55 liquid cooler and was wondering if I can fit an sp120 on it

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-31-2018, 10:33 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,153
POST ID # = 947839
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

It's possible but we don't know what we're working with here. Can you please fill out your system specs by clicking on the "Edit System Specs" link. Please make sure to include the Corsair devices, even if you put them in boxes like "Hard Drive 3".

Also, take a look at the Cooler FAQ linked in my signature.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-31-2018, 11:31 AM
joetarps joetarps is offline
Registered User
joetarps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 947844
joetarps Reputation: 10
Default

Filled in my specs,
i was thinking of using the stock sp120's inside the computer, one as the cpu cooler fan and 1 as the exhaust fan and then installing 3 new ll120s on the front and then controlling them all with link to combine with a keyboard rgb effect.

Last edited by joetarps; 03-31-2018 at 11:36 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-31-2018, 11:37 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,833
POST ID # = 947845
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joetarps View Post
I am pretty new to rgb and fan setups and was wandering if I can combine having ll120s on the front of my 460x and have sp120s inside controlling them all through link. Eventually I will get all ll120s but can't afford it at this point.
If this is possible I was wandering what exactly I will need to do it.

I also have a corsair h55 liquid cooler and was wondering if I can fit an sp120 on it

Thanks
RE the cooler.. yeah can get those fans on there no problems


RE RGB... have a read of this buddy... will explain everything you need to know ;)

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-31-2018, 11:39 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,833
POST ID # = 947846
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joetarps View Post
to combine with a keyboard rgb effect.
You would be wanting iCue for that dude




https://www.corsair.com/uk/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-31-2018, 11:51 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,153
POST ID # = 947848
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joetarps View Post
Filled in my specs,
i was thinking of using the stock sp120's inside the computer, one as the cpu cooler fan and 1 as the exhaust fan and then installing 3 new ll120s on the front and then controlling them all with link to combine with a keyboard rgb effect.
What cooler are we looking at? I'm sorry, dude, but I failed mind-reading in kindergarten. Even though there isn't a specific slot for it, you can put it in any of the other slots in system specs. It really, really helps.

You can fit them ... you probably won't be able to control all four of them with Link. Without knowing the exact cooler, I really can't give you any more specific guidance.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-31-2018, 11:53 AM
joetarps joetarps is offline
Registered User
joetarps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 947849
joetarps Reputation: 10
Default

Cheers, so regarding hardware would I need the following:
Amazon Link
And a commander pro?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-31-2018, 11:56 AM
joetarps joetarps is offline
Registered User
joetarps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 947851
joetarps Reputation: 10
Default

cooler is corsair h55 as mentioned in original post
also added it to my specs- new to the forum sorry

Last edited by joetarps; 03-31-2018 at 11:59 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-31-2018, 12:00 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,833
POST ID # = 947854
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
What cooler are we looking at?.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joetarps View Post
I also have a corsair h55 liquid cooler and was wondering if I can fit an sp120 on it

Thanks
first post dude
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-31-2018, 12:07 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,153
POST ID # = 947855
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The H55 doesn't have Link integration at all. Any fan that you attach to it is going to need to handled through a fan controller either on your motherboard or a Commander Pro. The challenge that you'll have is the appropriate temperature source for the fan control. With the CoPro, you can use one of the thermistors and place it in the exhaust air stream to get a relatively close approximation of the coolant temperature.
Without having a radiator in between them, I don't understand why you would want to have push/pull with LL120s and SP120s on that case. I don't think it would help with airflow and it might actually hurt.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-31-2018, 12:14 PM
joetarps joetarps is offline
Registered User
joetarps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 947856
joetarps Reputation: 10
Default

The whole idea isn't only to do with cooling to be honest, as I live in the UK it's never particularly hot anyway but I am wanting to have nice looking rgb fans inside the case as well as outside completely linked together without having to buy 2 sets of 3 of the ll120s at once. I just want to combine the ll120s rgb with the sp120 rgb fans as it will save me some money. Eventually I will upgrade to only ll120s. Don't worry about the cooler anyway that would just be an extra that i don't care about very much. I really just want decent cooling with 1, 2 or 3 rgb fans in the case keeping it cool but also looking good.

All I want is an equipment list to get so I can combine the 2 types of fans even in cue with my keyboard to look really good.

As I say I am fairly new to computer builds and especially rgb fans
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-31-2018, 12:26 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,153
POST ID # = 947858
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

So ... when you say "inside the case/outside the case", I'm picturing the LL120's and the SP120's together in the front ... an LL120 directly in front of an SP120 ... kind of a 2 fan "sandwich". Is that what you are talking about here? Or are you talking about having the LL's in the front panel of the case and the SP120 RGBs as exhaust or alternative intake in other fan mounting locations?

For starters, you'd need 2 different RGB fan hubs and a Lighting Node Pro ... you should be good with the multipack. You'll have a fan hub with the case and then a second fan hub with the multipack. You won't need to buy another multipack when you get around to replacing the SP fans with more LL fans; you can buy 3 individual fans, which may save you some money.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-31-2018, 12:55 PM
joetarps joetarps is offline
Registered User
joetarps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 947864
joetarps Reputation: 10
Default

I was thinking of the 3 ll120s on the outside and then yeah use the others as extra intakes and maybe an exhaust. Do I not need a commander pro o control all 6 fans from my computer as currently I believe the sp120s can only be controlled from the buttons on the top of the case
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 03-31-2018, 01:30 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,153
POST ID # = 947870
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The SP120 RGB functions can be controlled from a push-button controller that can then be hooked to case buttons (as yours are) or from a Commander Pro (CoPro)/Lighting Node Pro (NoPro) Lighting Channel. There is a connector on the Fan Hub for the controller or CoPro/NoPro connection. Since you'll have a NoPro with the LL fan multipack, that makes the most sense at this time.
If you want to control them with the LL fans and synch them in iCue or Link, then you'll need to have them connected to the NoPro. The LL Fan multipack will come with at least one cable to connect the fan hub; I'm not sure if it'll come with a second cable but you can make them (see my signature for instructions).
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 03-31-2018, 01:57 PM
joetarps joetarps is offline
Registered User
joetarps's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 947875
joetarps Reputation: 10
Default

Okay so just get the pack and make an extra lead for it?
Any chance you could draw out or find a diagram of the setup I’ll need and what plugs into what?
Thanks
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
fans rgb, ll120 rgb, rgb, rgb fans

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.