The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2019, 08:29 PM
Smyth Smyth is offline
Smyth
Smyth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 993580
Smyth Reputation: 10
Default Mystic light 3 and hd120 fans

Please help!

I have six hd120 fans all connected to the corsair hub that then goes to the jcorsair1 header on my msi z370 gaming pro carbon motherboard. I can control everything fine now with the mystic light 3 software except the fifth fan. I set everything to a static color but the fifth fan has two led's colored correctly while the rest are cycling through colors like its set to the rainbow setting.

I swapped fan six with five in the hub to see if the problem is the fan or the hub. Lo and behold the sixth fan that normally worked fine is doing the same thing in the fifth spot on the hub. Thankfully I have another hub. I put it in and the problem persists. I'm to the point now thinking the problem is the motherboard or there's some software issue.

I've recently updated icue as well to 3.12.118 to control my mouse and keyboard dpi and polling rates and what not. Mystic light 3 controls the rgb fine with them. Any advice will help!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2019, 12:26 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,342
POST ID # = 993601
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

My guess would be that it has to do with MSI Mystic Light. What happens if you, for giggles, specify LL fans on the JCORSAIR header rather than HD fans? Or strips?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2019, 11:59 AM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 665
POST ID # = 993683
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

I agree with DevBiker, Another way of testing it, if you don't have CoPro and LNP is to test it with the manual controller. The RGB Hub is pretty simple the only electronic component in it is one bypass capacitor for cleaning the 5v power. The rest is just traces and headers. If the only issue is with MSI, then I would engage them.
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2019, 05:58 PM
Smyth Smyth is offline
Smyth
Smyth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 994118
Smyth Reputation: 10
Default

Ok so there is no static color option when you just select any single type of fan so selected the marquee option for the ll120. Now the Sixth fan is screwing up!!! I'm confident this is a software issue which is kind of relieving i guess. I'm off to the MSI forums!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2019, 06:19 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,679
POST ID # = 994125
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

While not a cure for the current issue, I have to think you would be better off getting RGB Lighting Hub and moving the Corsair RGB control over to iCUE. The Mystic Light controls are so different, I am not sure how they interact with all the things you would be able to do in iCUE. Mystic Light and iCUE do seem to get along. I've had them running together for a few weeks without issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2019, 12:15 PM
Smyth Smyth is offline
Smyth
Smyth's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 994211
Smyth Reputation: 10
Default

I'd would like to switch to icue but the rest of my components probably wont work there and there arent enough rgb headers on my z370 gaming pro carbon mobo. Can icue control the fans through the jcorsair1 header?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2019, 07:28 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,342
POST ID # = 994267
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smyth View Post
I'd would like to switch to icue but the rest of my components probably wont work there and there arent enough rgb headers on my z370 gaming pro carbon mobo. Can icue control the fans through the jcorsair1 header?
No, iCUE cannot control the fans through the JCORSAIR header. Only through a Lighting Node Pro or Commander Pro.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
#hd120, #icue, #mysticlight

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.