The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2019, 01:43 PM
TheTiesThatBind TheTiesThatBind is offline
Registered User
TheTiesThatBind's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 88
POST ID # = 992464
TheTiesThatBind Reputation: 10
Default PSU Custom Sleeved Cables quality

I'm about to add some custom sleeved PSU cables on my RM750X and I would like to know which cables should I choose. I mostly care for PCI-e (x2) and ATX!

Well, I'm between the CableMod's and Corsair's one. Are there any difference? CableMod offers way more aesthetics options than the corsair's one, but if Corsair's are of better qualitys I'd go for them.

And what about built in capacitors? Do they really matter?

Kind regards
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-03-2019, 04:12 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 149
POST ID # = 992478
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

Aftermarket cables are abundant and depending on your needs I wonder what is wrong with the black ones the unit comes with
__________________

Corsair SPEC-1 chassis with AX860i PSU

Hardcore Games - Legenday of the Only Way to Play

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-04-2019, 02:37 PM
TheTiesThatBind TheTiesThatBind is offline
Registered User
TheTiesThatBind's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 88
POST ID # = 992638
TheTiesThatBind Reputation: 10
Default

Up. Anyone could also explain me why there are built In capacitors in the first place in the psu cables?

@Vegan for aesthetics, mainly
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-04-2019, 09:48 PM
jrcobb1994 jrcobb1994 is offline
Registered User
jrcobb1994's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 67
POST ID # = 992700
jrcobb1994 Reputation: 10
Default

You can probably get some cables that will fit that dont have inline caps, the trade off is higher ripple but still within acceptable specs. kinda defeats getting an RM series power supply.

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/blog/E...-Type-4-Cables
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-05-2019, 02:19 PM
TheTiesThatBind TheTiesThatBind is offline
Registered User
TheTiesThatBind's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 88
POST ID # = 992755
TheTiesThatBind Reputation: 10
Default

But what is ripple and would it affect PSUs / system’s longevity and performance?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-05-2019, 06:03 PM
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 992784
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTiesThatBind View Post
But what is ripple and would it affect PSUs / system’s longevity and performance?
Ripple is essentially like residual variation in voltage from the conversion of AC voltage to DC. The problem with excessive ripple is that if your components have tight tolerances for input voltage, and the ripple exceeds those amounts, it can cause damage over time to the components, if not immediate.

Think of capacitors like shock absorbers that help to pad variations in voltage.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #7  
Old 02-05-2019, 06:33 PM
TheTiesThatBind TheTiesThatBind is offline
Registered User
TheTiesThatBind's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 88
POST ID # = 992789
TheTiesThatBind Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
Ripple is essentially like residual variation in voltage from the conversion of AC voltage to DC. The problem with excessive ripple is that if your components have tight tolerances for input voltage, and the ripple exceeds those amounts, it can cause damage over time to the components, if not immediate.

Think of capacitors like shock absorbers that help to pad variations in voltage.
Thanks for the answer! But are there built in capacitors in Corsair’s custom sleeved cables? (Type4/Gen4)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-05-2019, 07:06 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,385
POST ID # = 992803
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTiesThatBind View Post
Thanks for the answer! But are there built in capacitors in Corsair’s custom sleeved cables? (Type4/Gen4)
Yes. But only on the ATX, PCIe and CPU/EPS. Not for the SATA cables.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-05-2019, 09:38 PM
TheTiesThatBind TheTiesThatBind is offline
Registered User
TheTiesThatBind's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 88
POST ID # = 992829
TheTiesThatBind Reputation: 10
Default

I was looking at the starter kit anyway! Alright, thanks for the answers! Seems like I’m going for the Corsair’s sleeves cables then ;)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.