The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2019, 08:18 PM
gencode gencode is offline
Registered User
gencode's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 991701
gencode Reputation: 10
Default Is it possible to connect my light strips for my case to my 6 PORT RGB LED FAN HUB th

Is it possible to connect my light strips for my case to my 6 PORT RGB LED FAN HUB that came with my LL kit?


Attached is a photo of the wiring I think I need to do, I tried it but nothing happened.

Case: CyberPowerPC INFERNO Mid-Tower Gaming Case
http://azzatek.com/m/2010-1275-166044.php?Lang=en

MB: ASRock Z370 Killer SLI
https://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z370...LIac/index.asp

GPU: 2x GEForce RTX 2080 Ti (SLI)
HDD: 970 EVO SSD
PS: EVGA 1000 GQ
Display: LG 34UC80-B 34-Inch 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD IPS
OS: 64 Bit Windows 10
Attached Images
File Type: png LEDWiering.png (220.0 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg LED Controller.jpg (918.3 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg LED Strip - DC 12V.jpg (354.2 KB, 22 views)
File Type: png LEDMotherboard.PNG (143.0 KB, 22 views)

Last edited by gencode; 01-29-2019 at 07:04 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-28-2019, 11:31 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,364
POST ID # = 991714
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Yes, it's possible but that ain't how you do it. You've got the wiring completely wrong. The Corsair LEDs use a single wire WS2812B. The fans use 4 cables (rather than 3) to allow for a data return line. If you wire it wrong, it's possible that you'll blow out the LEDs.

How you wire this up depends on what you are trying to do and why. Can you provide some detail about your use case?

I'm actually using fan hubs and custom cables to power 24 strips from one Lighting Channel. See my sig for connector details.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-29-2019, 06:37 PM
gencode gencode is offline
Registered User
gencode's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 991816
gencode Reputation: 10
Default

DevBiker, first thanks for taking the time to reply.

> Can you provide some detail about your use case?
I edited the post with all the info you requested and added photos
This is the case
Case: CyberPowerPC INFERNO Mid-Tower Gaming Case
(Same as) http://azzatek.com/m/2010-1275-166044.php?Lang=en
All RGB light effects controlled by external button.

> How you wire this up depends on what you are trying to do and why.
What I am trying to do is just to be able to control my lights on the case from iQUE
i.e. if I change Instant Lighting to 'Green' in iQue then all my fans turn green I also want my case led strips green.
Nothing more.

I have added a better photo of the LED Controller
The Case LED Strip are DC 12V but 4 pin not 3 like the Corsair CL-8930002 RGB LED Lighting PRO Expansion Kit
I dont see where CORSAIR Lighting Node PRO CL-9011109-WW can control the 4 pin LED strips
I called the case manuf and they said that the case LED strips can be controlled by the motherboard using the motherboards RGB LED Header plug

I have the
CORSAIR Lighting Node PRO
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego.../CL-9011109-WW
and
CORSAIR RGB Fan LED Hub
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...b/p/CO-8950020
With 4 LL Series Fans that work great

I hope this helps as I tried to be as detailed as possible.

Last edited by gencode; 01-29-2019 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-29-2019, 10:13 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,364
POST ID # = 991838
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Hmmm ... it's hard to say from the information that Azza has available but from the looks of it, those are 12V analog RGB LEDs, not 5V Digital Addressable RGBs. So you wouldn't be able to do anything with them unless you had a Digital to Analog Converter (DAC). And even then, it'd be limited to a single color.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-30-2019, 10:35 PM
gencode gencode is offline
Registered User
gencode's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 992012
gencode Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks, well I found this :)


But I think ill just order Corsair ones and replace my case ones,

Thanks again, Ed
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-31-2019, 12:51 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,364
POST ID # = 992028
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Yeah, but they aren't ready yet. That's Solarity ... he's around here..
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.