The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2018, 03:47 PM
Dajinn Dajinn is offline
Registered User
Dajinn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 966255
Dajinn Reputation: 10
Default Corsair 500D/SE - triple 120mm fans in top with correct bracket?

I was surprised to learn that given the length of the of the top panel the included bracket is only 2 120/140. HardwareCanucks video states the front and top brackets are interchangeable or at least, they're the same size, and that the top area has room for triple 120.

Does Corsair plan to make the fan brackets available for sale thru the Corsair parts web store? And does anyone know for sure if triple 120 fans up top would work?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:24 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 511
POST ID # = 966402
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dajinn View Post
I was surprised to learn that given the length of the of the top panel the included bracket is only 2 120/140. HardwareCanucks video states the front and top brackets are interchangeable or at least, they're the same size, and that the top area has room for triple 120.

Does Corsair plan to make the fan brackets available for sale thru the Corsair parts web store? And does anyone know for sure if triple 120 fans up top would work?
It depend on your other component, fitting a 360 up there is possible but it's going to be tight.

The fans brackets are not available for purchase separately.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-31-2018, 02:00 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 665
POST ID # = 966428
solarity Reputation: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
It depend on your other component, fitting a 360 up there is possible but it's going to be tight.

The fans brackets are not available for purchase separately.
This is interesting, I thought the 500D uses the tooling that was used for the 570x? The trays look very similar as well:

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...y/p/CC-8900038

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...se,5463-2.html

The trays look almost identical with hole placement. The only visible difference I see is the tab like cuts into the fan tray of the 500D.

I thought the official word is that the 360mm tray can not fit up top, at least on the 570x? Is this different than the 500D?
__________________
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-31-2018, 07:29 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 511
POST ID # = 966470
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarity View Post
This is interesting, I thought the 500D uses the tooling that was used for the 570x? The trays look very similar as well:

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...y/p/CC-8900038

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews...se,5463-2.html

The trays look almost identical with hole placement. The only visible difference I see is the tab like cuts into the fan tray of the 500D.

I thought the official word is that the 360mm tray can not fit up top, at least on the 570x? Is this different than the 500D?
they are not the same.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-08-2019, 09:35 PM
Dajinn Dajinn is offline
Registered User
Dajinn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 993274
Dajinn Reputation: 10
Default

The 570X front fan tray works just fine to fit 3 120 fans in the top of the 500D, confirmed by me.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-09-2019, 08:19 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,568
POST ID # = 993318
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dajinn View Post
The 570X front fan tray works just fine to fit 3 120 fans in the top of the 500D, confirmed by me.
Doesn't get any better than that :)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-16-2019, 09:31 AM
Hockster2's Avatar
Hockster2 Hockster2 is offline
Chronic Upgrader
Hockster2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 138
POST ID # = 994478
Hockster2 Reputation: 10
Default

But then you're stuck with only 2 front intake fans.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-16-2019, 10:39 AM
Krokarn Krokarn is offline
Registered User
Krokarn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 175
POST ID # = 994497
Krokarn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockster2 View Post
But then you're stuck with only 2 front intake fans.

https://www.corsair.com/eu/en/Catego...y/p/CC-8900038
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-16-2019, 02:22 PM
Hockster2's Avatar
Hockster2 Hockster2 is offline
Chronic Upgrader
Hockster2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 138
POST ID # = 994526
Hockster2 Reputation: 10
Default

The 570 isn't the same as the 500.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-16-2019, 02:55 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,568
POST ID # = 994528
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockster2 View Post
The 570 isn't the same as the 500.
you know its pretty much the same Chassis right? ;)
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-16-2019, 07:41 PM
Hockster2's Avatar
Hockster2 Hockster2 is offline
Chronic Upgrader
Hockster2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 138
POST ID # = 994563
Hockster2 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
you know its pretty much the same Chassis right? ;)
So the Corsair staff member who already posted in thread is wrong?

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/show...70&postcount=4
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-17-2019, 01:33 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,568
POST ID # = 994582
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockster2 View Post
So the Corsair staff member who already posted in thread is wrong?

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/show...70&postcount=4

who knows....

but I can also confirm this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dajinn View Post
The 570X front fan tray works just fine to fit 3 120 fans in the top of the 500D, confirmed by me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post

The fans brackets are not available for purchase separately.

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...y/p/CC-8900038
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-17-2019, 10:20 AM
Hockster2's Avatar
Hockster2 Hockster2 is offline
Chronic Upgrader
Hockster2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 138
POST ID # = 994605
Hockster2 Reputation: 10
Default

Guess I'll find out. Just ordered one, although $15 shipping for a $5 part feels ridiculous.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 02-19-2019, 04:37 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,568
POST ID # = 994910
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockster2 View Post
Guess I'll find out. Just ordered one, although $15 shipping for a $5 part feels ridiculous.

Good luck on your quest man.

Heres a 570x with 3 fans up top done by another forum user (Spec Samantha on here i believe) Maguyvered to the max but beautiful none the less.



i would like that but as intake in my 570x. having the glass top and indeed filtered is win win at times lol

Last edited by Zotty; 02-22-2019 at 04:45 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 02-19-2019, 09:55 PM
Hockster2's Avatar
Hockster2 Hockster2 is offline
Chronic Upgrader
Hockster2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 138
POST ID # = 994938
Hockster2 Reputation: 10
Default

I've got the 500, not the 570.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.