The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2019, 07:37 PM
ckhayat ckhayat is offline
Registered User
ckhayat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1002046
ckhayat Reputation: 10
Default NEW Keyboard keeps "Freezing"

I recently (received 1 week ago) bought a K95 RGB Platinum Keyboard on Amazon that was bundled with the MM800 RGB Polaris. At this time I also purchased a Scimitar Pro RGB Mouse. After only a couple of days with the new peripherals, the keyboard started to "freeze" as it seems to be called, especially when playing games. ALL keys/buttons on the keyboard stop working entirely. The lights do not go off, but they do freeze (stop changing/moving/rotating/flashing). The mouse and mousepad have zero problems and never go out. To fix the keyboard I need to unplug the USB and plug it back in. The only fixes for a few minutes though. I have tried using every USB slot I have (2.0, 3.0, powered 3.0 USB hubs) and nothing changes. I have updated all drivers, windows, the firmware (through iCUE), iCUE, and pretty much everything else I could think of. I have done a soft reset on the keyboard. This did not fix it. On iCUE, the keyboard picture will get a red triangle on it when the board freezes. It will then eventually disappear altogether.
After some testing and messing around, I have noticed that I can go longer without freezing if the keyboard is using a static light (such as instant lighting). As soon as I switch to a dynamic light setting it freezes. If Computer is shutdown the keyboard does not reset or shut off. It will stay lit and frozen until I unplug the USB.

I have also tried plugging the keyboard (w/ and w/o the powered usb hub) into my laptop and it freezes there also.

ANY help welcome!

Last edited by ckhayat; 04-21-2019 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-24-2019, 09:35 AM
wim-bart wim-bart is offline
Registered User
wim-bart's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 1002418
wim-bart Reputation: 10
Default

Same issue I have, it started with Multi media key madness (volume control started out of itself) and now the keyboard is totally dead on some occasions. I made an RMA, because this should not happen to a $200 keyboard.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-19-2019, 01:13 PM
Kadex Kadex is offline
Registered User
Kadex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1005013
Kadex Reputation: 10
Default

Your post exactly describes my situation. You are the first post I have found in hours of searching that perfectly matches my issue.

The only Corsair peripheral I am using is the K95 keyboard, recently purchased.

I don't know what to do. I have tried updating USB drivers, uninstalling and reinstalling relevant drivers to keyboard, switching to different USB ports, removing all other USB peripherals to the bare minimum, updating firmware, updating ICUE software, not having ICUE software start at system start up. I am sure I did more than this too.

Is this keyboard defective? Is this a known quality defect, Corsair? Do I need to RMA it? This keyboard is not reliable or usable in its current state. Sure looks nice and responds well when it doesn't completely lock up, which it does far too frequently.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-22-2019, 04:17 AM
Rendell Rendell is offline
Registered User
Rendell's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1005335
Rendell Reputation: 10
Default Same problem

Please tell us what we can do to fix this issue. I have tried almost everything to stop this problem. I even has 2 Keyboards hooked up and when the K95 fails. The other KB is still working. Everything in that is using the USB ports are still working fine - just the KB dies.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-22-2019, 05:43 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 572
POST ID # = 1005412
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

It sounds like the iCUE connection is timing out for whatever reason. I can think of 2 reasons:

1. USB power is dropping for whatever reason. Make sure that the USBs don't have power saving settings on like USB selective Suspend.
2. There's too much lighting information going for the computer to keep up with all the products. Try turning down the polling rate for the keyboard to "4". You can change polling rate in the Settings options of iCUE.

Also, make sure that disconnecting another USB device doesn't correct the issue as well.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-29-2019, 07:02 PM
Rendell Rendell is offline
Registered User
Rendell's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1006207
Rendell Reputation: 10
Default

Calico Jack,

It is not timing out - happens as fast as 2 sec. - I have it hooked to 2.0 and 3.0 USB and it still does and the mouse and Mic. on same line work fine. Windows Drops it the connection on BOTH my computers that I have used it on. I get warnings that Win 10 does not recognize the USB item Then sometimes it says it loaded the K95 KB. as a good device. I have Also tried it solo on the line so it is not duie to the mouse or mic. being on the USB port. IT IS THE KEYBOARD SOFTWARE ISSUE - PLEASE FIX IT
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-29-2019, 08:31 PM
Ghost_Endgame Ghost_Endgame is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1006213
Ghost_Endgame Reputation: 10
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rendell View Post
Calico Jack,

It is not timing out - happens as fast as 2 sec. - I have it hooked to 2.0 and 3.0 USB and it still does and the mouse and Mic. on same line work fine. Windows Drops it the connection on BOTH my computers that I have used it on. I get warnings that Win 10 does not recognize the USB item Then sometimes it says it loaded the K95 KB. as a good device. I have Also tried it solo on the line so it is not duie to the mouse or mic. being on the USB port. IT IS THE KEYBOARD SOFTWARE ISSUE - PLEASE FIX IT

im gettin the same with my scimitar pro after only owning it for like 8 months i have done everything soft/hard reset (hard reset wont drop its original firmware) even resetting my ****ing pc loosing so much ****ing data all because corsair is a sub par product SOOOO many people i talk to say they have had nothing but problems. If RMAing my mouse will be to much stress ill upload the video of me destroying it with a ****ing hammer im loosing my **** 2 weeks of talking to a automated response ticket is driving me nuts.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-03-2019, 07:53 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 572
POST ID # = 1006822
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Does the issue completely cease if iCUE is turned off? Or does it still happen?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.