Corsair Community

Help-6 ll120 fans, plus 2 connected to the h100i aio

shaepaulo

First time builder here, I have the asus rog strix z390-e gaming mobo which looks like it has 8 fan headers for the pwm connectors on all of the ll120 fans. Am I seeing that correctly on my mobo? However, they’re all labeled certain things but I’ve read different places I’d just have to remember what fans are connected to which headers if I wanted to set the speeds in bios and that it doesn’t necessarily matter which headers I plug them into as long as I remember. Is that how that works?

Or should I get one commander pro and plug 6 of the fans into it and then maybe plug the h100i fans into the mobo? I’d be able to control the 6 chassis fans in icue correct? And then the h100i fans I would have to control in bios?

I’m very new to this so any suggestions on how you guys would set this up would help a ton.

For reference. I have the 680x case. Three fans pulling air in through the front. Two fans pushing air out the bottom. One fan pushing air out of the back. And then the two h100i fans I’ll most likely configure to pull air in from the top thru the radiator. Now where the heck should I plug all these fans in?!

You can use the motherboard. And yes, you'd need to know which ones are plugged in where to control them. You'd use the BIOS or your motherboard software (AiSuite) to control them.

And yes, a Commander Pro is an alternative. Now, you still need to remember what's plugged in where but you can also rename them in the interface. Furthermore, it gives you temp sensors to use a control sources for the fan curves. The fans on the cooler, however, should be plugged in to the cooler, not the motherboard or the Commander Pro. Look in the Liquid Cooler FAQ for details.

Thank you for the reply. I've gone ahead and ordered the commander pro to make things simpler for myself in the iCue software.

Now as far as a few other things go: