Corsair Community

Wired or RAM GUY I need help :(

Hello,

I'm new with this so I'll give you as much information as I can possible give you...

System Description:

------------------------------------

Motherboard: Gigabyte 8IG1000MK

Northwood P4 2.4ghz (ht tech with 800mhz bus) @3.24ghz with stock cooling

Chipset: i865p/PE/G/i848p

1024 Corsair CMX 512-3200C2 2x(512)

AGP 8X (installed radeon 9800 pro 128 mb)

(I apologize if this is too much)

Current BIOS settings

voltage 1.6

CPU (Mhz) [270] x 12

Memory Frequency [Auto] (But I have the option to change the settings to:[1.33] or [1.66] or [2.0])

Current CPU Temp 24-34 'C

Timings-Memory

Frequency 180.4 MHz

FSB:DRAM 3:2

CAS# latency 2.5 clocks

Cycle time 10 clocks

I recently purchased 2 Corsair CMX512-3200c2 RAMs (XMS). I installed both to be run under Dual channel successfully. I ran the BIOS in default mode just to c how it would run normally @2.4ghz with mem freq at 1.66 and my gaming apps would crash after several minutes of play. Well I bought the RAM cause I wanted to overclock my computer so I bumped up the CPU Host Frequency to [260]x12 with mem freq at 1.66 and the computer froze before I got back into bios. I then took out one of the RAM and got back into the bios and reset to default. Now I'm running [270]x12 (see the rest above in BIOS settings) and I'm having no problems.

So I'm wonderring y was this happening? Should I set my Memory Freq to "[auto]"..or can I overclock it, cause it seems to be underclocked? Hypothetically what would you change in the BIOS if you we're me?

I really appreciate you guys taking the time to help a noobie. Hope this isn't too long..but better safe then sorry?

Thanks again,

-Tom

Hi wired thx for replying :)

Is this an additional 1 GB to what you already have?
Overall I have one gigabyte of RAM. So I got two 512mb, that are running dual channel.

Are you testing just the new memory one stick at a time?