The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2016, 04:38 AM
Yury Rykov Yury Rykov is offline
Registered User
Yury Rykov's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 860153
Yury Rykov Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Neutron XT turned into 2MB drive

Corsair Neutron XT SSD worked fine as the system drive in laptop for 1 month. After a sudden BSOD it failed to boot.
Connected the drive via USB controller to a working PC. It is displayed as a 2MB drive in disk manager and fails to initialize (Data error (Cyclic redundancy check)).
Corsair SSD toolbox can see the Neutron XT disc, shows firmware version (SAFC01.5), serial etc. No SMART readings, however, and drive size is 2MB.
I did not try secure wipe because hope for your help to save the data.
Toolbox can not update firmware because it is latest version already.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-28-2016, 07:39 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,347
POST ID # = 860165
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Try loading Parted Magic and see whether you can retrieve the data off the drive.

You can also put in a RMA request to replace the drive with Corsair,
https://corsair.secure.force.com/
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-30-2016, 12:17 PM
Yury Rykov Yury Rykov is offline
Registered User
Yury Rykov's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 860469
Yury Rykov Reputation: 10
Default

Same thing at connecting by SATA and booting parted magic: 2MB drive, I/O error at any attempt to read.

Is there a way to try refreshing firmware? I believe, flushing the same version of firmware may fix the drive, at least for some time to recover the data.

RMA is in place, but I would like to recover the data first, if possible. Could you please suggest some ideas.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-01-2016, 05:30 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,347
POST ID # = 860530
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Unfortunately, No, there isn't a way to reflash the firmware. You can consider contacting data recovery specialists and see whether they can help.

It may also be best to let Corsair know that you are attempting to recover data and whether or not it will affect the warranty status (If the drive is to be opened).
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-01-2016, 05:44 AM
Yury Rykov Yury Rykov is offline
Registered User
Yury Rykov's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 860535
Yury Rykov Reputation: 10
Default

Ok. The data is not that valuable to spend money for specialists and void warranty.
Any idea why the failure might have happened? I do not want such thing happen in future.
The drive was in a notebook with AC and battery power. The notebook was idle at the moment of failure. (except Win7 X64 background activity)
The SATA controller was in RAID ON mode, could this have caused the issue? Intel rapid storage driver was not installed, however.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-03-2016, 05:57 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,347
POST ID # = 860774
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

A failure can occur at any time and be caused by really anything.

The best approach would to always keep a backup of your data to prevent data loss in the future.

It would probably be best to ask Corsair which SATA mode is recommended if AHCI is not an option.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-17-2019, 07:27 AM
Domthegreat Domthegreat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1004816
Domthegreat Reputation: 10
Default

Hello i have same problem with neutron xt 240gb
firmware is SAFC01.6.
Do you have answer from corsair technician?
thanks
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-23-2019, 04:20 PM
Corsair Rick's Avatar
Corsair Rick Corsair Rick is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Rick's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 274
POST ID # = 1005493
Corsair Rick Reputation: 10
Default

Hello Domthegreat,

I would recommend submitting a ticket at support.corsair.com to see what our Technical Support has to say.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.