The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2015, 12:08 PM
rarzer rarzer is offline
Registered User
rarzer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 759572
rarzer Reputation: 11
Default Problem with dual cpu and h80i

Hi there,

I just purchased an Asus Z10PE-D8 WS dual xeon motherboard. I have two h80i coolers but I only find a single USB 2 Head in the MOBO. Is there any workaround to connect both coolers? Is there anything like a USB 3 head to USB 2 head adaptor? Thanks in advance!

Last edited by rarzer; 02-11-2015 at 12:26 PM.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #2  
Old 02-11-2015, 01:05 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 759585
red-ray Reputation: 81
Wink It's easy enough to move the pins or get a CLCP

I think it's easy enough to move the pins so both use the same header. This is what I did just keep the same colour order on both sides. Another option is an NZXT IU01 USB Expansion or an Internal USB Hub.

The best option is the CLCP which contains a USB hub, so both coolers can be connected via this USB hub.

I now have 2 x CLCP so no longed need to use my NZXT IU01 .

Last edited by red-ray; 08-01-2017 at 04:22 PM. Reason: CLCP is now the best option
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-11-2015, 01:55 PM
rarzer rarzer is offline
Registered User
rarzer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 759612
rarzer Reputation: 11
Default

Thanks very much red-ray. So did you aligned the cables by colors using both rows, right? If so, what about the last black one? I mean, there are 9 holes instead of 10. Should I 'tie' these last two cables together? Thanks again

Last edited by rarzer; 02-11-2015 at 02:02 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-11-2015, 03:15 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 759634
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow Yes, align the colours.

There is a 5th hole that is blanked, but the 5th pin fitted into it fine. I used a needle to release the pins, just be gentle.

Quote:


SIV [USB Bus] screen shot showing my 2 x CLCP/CLCH + 1 X CLNP. Note the 2nd CLCP + CLNP are connected via the USB Hub of 1st CLCP.



BTW the NZXT IU01 does not need to be powered provided all the devices connected use <= 500mA in total, though I would power it for > 400mA. Mine is as below and is not powered. SIV reports the two NZXT IU01 hubs as powered as this is what the hardware incorrectly reports.

Attached Images
File Type: png Should have gone to Specsavers.png (405.9 KB, 9402 views)
File Type: png [USB Bus] - 2 x CLCP + 1 x CLNP + 1 x CLCC.png (71.9 KB, 8003 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 08-01-2017 at 04:23 PM. Reason: Note on power + CLCP
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #5  
Old 02-11-2015, 08:54 PM
rarzer rarzer is offline
Registered User
rarzer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 759682
rarzer Reputation: 11
Smile

Great. Just did it that way, nothing exploded so far :)

I got these CPU's. I work on heavy 3D rendering and hopefully this machine will make my life easier. I'm a lifetime mac user and quite disappointed I have no option anymore for dual xeons, so here I am building this little big PC... Will try your software as soon as I get windows installed, looking good!

Cheers!
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #6  
Old 02-13-2015, 01:59 AM
rarzer rarzer is offline
Registered User
rarzer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 759944
rarzer Reputation: 11
Default

Some screenshots here:





So far Corsair Link is running well except for temps. For a second it will show correctly but then a blinking red will show at 0,0 Celcius. Anyways I found it's not just me having this issue with version 2.7.5361
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #7  
Old 02-13-2015, 03:15 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 759951
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rarzer View Post
So far Corsair Link is running well except for temps. For a second it will show correctly but then a blinking red will show at 0,0 Celcius. Anyways I found it's not just me having this issue with version 2.7.5361
Thank you for the screen shots. If you exit CL and then run SIV it should display the CL temperatures and fan/pump speeds correctly. You need to exit CL as it fails to use the Global\Access_CorsairLink mutex to interlock access.

Have you done the EnhancedPowerManagementEnabled kluge? You can use the [Link Devices] panel to set it to zero (uncheck the box) and then press [Restart] to restart the device for both H80is.

Last edited by red-ray; 02-13-2015 at 07:44 AM. Reason: Note about EnhancedPowerManagementEnabled
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-03-2015, 09:22 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 782582
red-ray Reputation: 81
Smile SIV Reporting Dual Xeon with 2 x H80i


Attached Images
File Type: png SIV Reporting Dual Xeon with 2 x H80i.png (166.7 KB, 13460 views)
File Type: png [Status] ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS.png (245.8 KB, 10882 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 10-14-2016 at 03:30 AM. Reason: Added [Status] screen
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-03-2015, 10:55 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,770
POST ID # = 782608
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

For future reference you can get a USB 3.0 to USB 2.0 convertor. You can also get an NZXT 1U01 which you mount inside your case and connect to your USB 2.0 motherboard header. It then giver you 3 USB 2.0 headers and 2 sockets.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-28-2016, 11:43 AM
SimonC SimonC is offline
Registered User
SimonC's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 28
POST ID # = 839738
SimonC Reputation: 17
Default

Thought about starting a new thread (as this one seemed to come to a conclusion a long time ago) but the content is so relevant I've decided to post here. Hope that doesn't upset anyone.

I have 2 x NZXT IU01 and wish they had come with 5 internal headers rather than 3 internal headers and 2 'external' USB ports.

I'm aware that I could attempt to move pins as described by Red-Ray, but I also wonder if I could use an Akasa USB Internal to External Extension Cable. I'm pretty certain that I can but would be interested to hear if anyone has done so. If so, this thread might prove useful to others as a further option for increasing the number of devices you can handle that require internal USB header ports beyond the 3 offered by the IU01 but without moving pins.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-28-2016, 12:44 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 839751
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

There really should be a sticky thread about how to resolve not enough internal USB headers, but I suspect Corsair will not endorse moving pins.

What you propose does work, though I have a dual versions of such cables and use them to connect my IU01 and then 2 x Corsair Link USB Dongle to the IU01! I also have 8 devices connected to the IU01 as I also moved pins.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-23-2016, 09:37 PM
will_s will_s is offline
Registered User
will_s's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 113
POST ID # = 863832
will_s Reputation: 10
Default

problem is getting the NZXT in Australia....its expensive to get from US but may end up doing that.........splicing wires and connections together seems a good idea but when you have ten thumbs its not that easy.............need a nice clear guide on how to do this
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-24-2016, 04:25 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 863848
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Does this help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by will_s View Post
splicing wires and connections together seems a good idea but when you have ten thumbs its not that easy
Does this help?
  1. The wires do not need to be spliced.
  2. You just need to release the five pins from one header connector and push them into the other one.
  3. To release them use a needle to slightly lift the plastic holding clip.
  4. Gently pull the wire to extract the pin.
  5. Repeat this for all five
  6. Insert them into the other USB header connector
  7. Use the same colour order.
  8. It should end up looking like the one in http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=759634
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 07-24-2016, 04:52 AM
will_s will_s is offline
Registered User
will_s's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 113
POST ID # = 863851
will_s Reputation: 10
Default

so basically one piggy backs on the other ?

edit: anyway......bit my tongue and went to ebay and ordered one

Just wonder if using the NZXT expansion card would I need external power as it will be just for the Corsair PSU and 115 cooler

Last edited by will_s; 07-24-2016 at 05:16 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 07-24-2016, 05:28 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 863860
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by will_s View Post
  1. so basically one piggy backs on the other ?
  2. edit: anyway......bit my tongue and went to ebay and ordered one
  3. Just wonder if using the NZXT expansion card would I need external power as it will be just for the Corsair PSU and 115 cooler
  1. No, the USB header connector has two rows of five holes and only one row is initially in use. Each USB header is for two USB devices.
  2. OK
  3. I suspect not as each will need <= 100mA. I would look at the SIV [USB Bus] panel to confirm this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
BTW the NZXT IU01 does not need to be powered provided all the devices connected use <= 500mA in total, though I would power it for > 400mA. Mine is as below and is not powered. SIV reports the two NZXT IU01 hubs as powered as this is what the hardware incorrectly reports.

Last edited by red-ray; 07-24-2016 at 05:43 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
dual cpu, h80i, usb head, xeon

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.