The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 17 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #61  
Old 03-05-2012, 01:38 AM
greeny2010's Avatar
greeny2010 greeny2010 is offline
Registered User
greeny2010's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 565485
greeny2010 Reputation: 10
Default

Apparently there must be a major fault in which Corsair has no answer. They keep on delaying the update of the software by who-know-what group. I'm really pissed by this kind of support and my next hardware upgrade will be be Corsair. That's a promise.

Oh yes, rma from my location, the postage can let me upgrade a better gaming system.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #62  
Old 03-07-2012, 10:47 PM
superxero044 superxero044 is offline
Registered User
superxero044's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 566033
superxero044 Reputation: 10
Default

Installs fine for me but it blows up on trying to run the update. Sounds like I'm not the only one having the problem. Please post here when these issues are resolved. I don't need to update the firmware so I will just wait until these issues are ironed out.

Last edited by superxero044; 03-07-2012 at 10:50 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #63  
Old 03-10-2012, 01:17 AM
greeny2010's Avatar
greeny2010 greeny2010 is offline
Registered User
greeny2010's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 566421
greeny2010 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superxero044 View Post
Installs fine for me but it blows up on trying to run the update. Sounds like I'm not the only one having the problem. Please post here when these issues are resolved. I don't need to update the firmware so I will just wait until these issues are ironed out.
There are many, many, many owners are facing the same problem. Yet, nothing coming from the support desk. Such customer's service is real bad for the company like Corsair.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #64  
Old 03-11-2012, 09:40 PM
hackztor hackztor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 566674
hackztor Reputation: 10
Default

If you do not want to wait, install a vm such as vmware or virtualbox and put windows xp or windows 7 32bit. Much easier than waiting.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #65  
Old 03-18-2012, 12:03 AM
memino memino is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 567777
memino Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hackztor View Post
If you do not want to wait, install a vm such as vmware or virtualbox and put windows xp or windows 7 32bit. Much easier than waiting.
I just registered to thank you, ran virtual box as windows 7 the updater installed, ran the updater in compatibility mode windows 7 as it was crashing and now I'm on the latest firmware.

Shameful how long Corsair are taking to repair this.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #66  
Old 03-18-2012, 04:13 AM
greeny2010's Avatar
greeny2010 greeny2010 is offline
Registered User
greeny2010's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 567794
greeny2010 Reputation: 10
Default

For those who are still having problem in updating the firmware to 1.05.08A, here are the steps I performed to have the firmware updated.

1 - Grab the latest updater software from the support section.
2 - Run the updater to install it on your system. Mine is a Win7 Pro x64.
3 - Go to Start -> All Program -> Corsair and run the SP2500 Updater.
4 - Switch off and on the SP2500 and connect a USB cable.
5 - Let the program do the necessary updating and you are done.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #67  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:13 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,289
POST ID # = 569208
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Actually the update was just updated last week so this problem should be resolved, please try it again and down load the new update and let me know if you have any problems.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #68  
Old 03-26-2012, 08:00 PM
superxero044 superxero044 is offline
Registered User
superxero044's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 569225
superxero044 Reputation: 10
Default

Uninstalled and downloaded newest version. Get error:

Microsoft Visual C++ Debug Library

Debug Error!
Program:
C:\users\username\appdata\local\temp\sp2500updater\dfusedemo.exe
HEAP CORRUPTION DETECTED: after Normal block (#147) at 0x04C17AB0
CRT detected that the application wrote memory after end of the heap buffer.

(Press Retry to debug the application)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #69  
Old 04-02-2012, 07:01 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,289
POST ID # = 570375
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That sounds like some other issue, can you try the update on another system like a NOTEBOOK or other computer? You don't have to connect the Audio only the USB cable and the speakers need to be powered.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #70  
Old 04-07-2012, 04:54 PM
Technochris Technochris is offline
Registered User
Technochris's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 571229
Technochris Reputation: 10
Default

I also had problems trying to update the firmware on my Win 7 x64 computer but the below instructions worked fine for me after I installed the USB driver sttube64.7z from the quoted link below and I could update my firmware to the latest version available 105.08A flawlessly.

So just follow these instructions and it should go fine.

By the way, I updated my firmware using the latest Updater available, which is 1020 at the time I wrote this message.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maulbongo View Post
Hi folks,

I could solve the updateproblem on 64bit system.
Here is how to do:

1. turn off the Pod
2. connect the Pod to the PC
3. turn on the Pod and now the driver has to be installed
4. download this http://www2.corsair.com/software/SP2...er/sttube64.7z
5. extract this and start the containing dpinst.exe, now the driver is going to be installed
6. download this http://www2.corsair.com/software/SP2...ater_1_013.txt
7. change the file to SP2500Updater_1_013.exe
8. execute SP2500Updater_1_013.exe and you can update

So hope this works for you

greetings maulbongo
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #71  
Old 04-21-2012, 06:20 AM
Wingless Wingless is offline
Registered User
Wingless's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 573702
Wingless Reputation: 10
Default

I get this error

Microsoft Visual C++ Debug Library

Debug Error!
Program:
C:\users\username\appdata\local\temp\sp2500updater\dfusedemo.exe
HEAP CORRUPTION DETECTED: after Normal block (#169) at 0x04350AD0.
CRT detected that the application wrote memory after end of the heap buffer.

(Press Retry to debug the application)

The updater then runs in the background searching updates and then crashes.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #72  
Old 05-23-2012, 02:56 PM
Bane2087 Bane2087 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 580125
Bane2087 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maulbongo View Post
Hi folks,

I could solve the updateproblem on 64bit system.
Here is how to do:

1. turn off the Pod
2. connect the Pod to the PC
3. turn on the Pod and now the driver has to be installed
4. download this http://www2.corsair.com/software/SP2...er/sttube64.7z
5. extract this and start the containing dpinst.exe, now the driver is going to be installed
6. download this http://www2.corsair.com/software/SP2...ater_1_013.txt
7. change the file to SP2500Updater_1_013.exe
8. execute SP2500Updater_1_013.exe and you can update

So hope this works for you

greetings maulbongo
I could not get the setup to run on Win 7 64bit it would just crash. So I found this thread and tried these steps above on Win 7, same problem updater would crash. Tried as administrator... crash. Tried in XP compatibility mode... crash.

Finally I installed and fired up the XP mode feature in Windows 7, tried it there and lo and behold no crash! Installation failure instead!

I tried but could not complete the above steps as the link is for the 64 bit USB driver which won't work on XP32.

http://www2.corsair.com/software/SP2...iver/sttube.7z <- here is the 32 bit USB driver.

So finally the steps were:
1) Download and install the 64bit USB driver as in step 4 above.
2) Download and install XP Mode in Windows 7 (note this feature is for Ultimate, Professional and Enterprise versions of Windows 7 only - you will need another virtual machine software if you have Home Premium or lower).
3) Download and install 7zip in the XP Virtual PC.
4) Download and install the 32bit USB driver above.
5) Click the USB menu at the top of the Virtual PC session and attach the STM32 device.
6) Continue from the original step 5 posted by maulbongo.

I tried many other things and this was the ONLY way that worked for me. Complicated and long winded but I got there in the end, hope this helps someone. This is not good form from Corsair, their hardware products are known to be pretty good but their software is kinda holding them back.

Last edited by Bane2087; 05-23-2012 at 02:59 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #73  
Old 05-28-2012, 03:10 AM
spacescreamer spacescreamer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 581007
spacescreamer Reputation: 10
Default F/w log anybody ?

^ Thanks for the info.. quite helpful.

Now can anybody point/provide me the changelog for the firmwares pls..?
My set came with 1.05.06 and after reading all the issues, i only intend to upgrade unless there is some serious feature added or critical flaw removed.

Thanks in advance :)


A sticky will be good i think.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #74  
Old 05-31-2012, 07:08 AM
ars92 ars92 is offline
Registered User
ars92's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 581662
ars92 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spacescreamer View Post
^ Thanks for the info.. quite helpful.

Now can anybody point/provide me the changelog for the firmwares pls..?
My set came with 1.05.06 and after reading all the issues, i only intend to upgrade unless there is some serious feature added or critical flaw removed.

Thanks in advance :)


A sticky will be good i think.
It fixes some Japanese characters if you use japanese language. and something about the subwoofer. But nothing which increases sound quality or real fixes which should concern you. It was flawless before, and also after the update for me.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #75  
Old 05-31-2012, 07:20 AM
greeny2010's Avatar
greeny2010 greeny2010 is offline
Registered User
greeny2010's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 581668
greeny2010 Reputation: 10
Default

What the latest firmware available?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.