The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2009, 01:30 PM
deees deees is offline
Registered User
deees's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 150
POST ID # = 421618
deees Reputation: 10
Default H50+800D+EVGA_Classified Is NOT compatible

While this was first posted by Nordic back in September, there was no follow-up:

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...30&postcount=1

I can now confirm that this is true.

I actually was able temporarily install it by using one of the 140mm holes and one of the hexagonal vent holes, but it can not be installed correctly using 120mm fan holes.

This shows the area of interference with the Classified’s heat-sink. There is clearance in this picture because my radiator is shifted towards the door.



Here is the side view showing the area of overlap.



For the record, I have the 759 variant of the classified. I don’t know if this affects any of the other models.

Since I also have one of the early 800D cases with the hole-alignment problem, I’ll wait to see what solution Corsair offers before I contemplate drilling new mounting hole for the heat exchanger. I also will research 120mm x 20mm fans to see if any are suitable for this application.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 10-17-2009, 04:23 PM
AlphaTech AlphaTech is offline
Registered User
AlphaTech's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 421643
AlphaTech Reputation: 10
Default

You have to turn Rad other way.. Noobe


Quote:
Originally Posted by deees View Post
While this was first posted by Nordic back in September, there was no follow-up:

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...30&postcount=1

I can now confirm that this is true.

I actually was able temporarily install it by using one of the 140mm holes and one of the hexagonal vent holes, but it can not be installed correctly using 120mm fan holes.

This shows the area of interference with the Classified’s heat-sink. There is clearance in this picture because my radiator is shifted towards the door.



Here is the side view showing the area of overlap.



For the record, I have the 759 variant of the classified. I don’t know if this affects any of the other models.

Since I also have one of the early 800D cases with the hole-alignment problem, I’ll wait to see what solution Corsair offers before I contemplate drilling new mounting hole for the heat exchanger. I also will research 120mm x 20mm fans to see if any are suitable for this application.

Last edited by AlphaTech; 10-17-2009 at 05:55 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 10-17-2009, 04:38 PM
Hedghawg71's Avatar
Hedghawg71 Hedghawg71 is offline
Wing Nut
Hedghawg71's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Aubrey, Tx
Posts: 36
POST ID # = 421647
Hedghawg71 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaTech View Post
You have to turn Red other way.. Noobe
You saw that too!
__________________
"If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem."

YES! It works with my 4870X2's in CF

3d Mark06 3d Mark Vantage

This one can't, won't and don't...

Screw the FTW...
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 10-17-2009, 04:46 PM
deees deees is offline
Registered User
deees's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 150
POST ID # = 421648
deees Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaTech View Post
You have to turn Red other way.. Noobe
Would you elaborate?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 10-17-2009, 04:58 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,999
POST ID # = 421651
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

I believe he's suggesting to mount the radiator 180 clockwise.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 10-17-2009, 05:15 PM
deees deees is offline
Registered User
deees's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 150
POST ID # = 421656
deees Reputation: 10
Default

Have you tried this with the Classified and the 800D?

I have, the radiator actually has more interference with the heat-sink and the end overhangs the edge of the case.

If someone has a picture of a CWCHH50-1 and EVGA 141-BL-E759-A1 , in a 800d, please post it.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 10-17-2009, 09:13 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,999
POST ID # = 421703
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

Let's keep it civil guys :)
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)

Last edited by Wired; 10-17-2009 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 10-17-2009, 09:21 PM
Nordic Nordic is offline
Registered User
Nordic's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
POST ID # = 421705
Nordic Reputation: 10
Default

Mine did not fit either way but then my backplane was way off. Fitted now with EK waterblock on the Classified board
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 10-17-2009, 09:37 PM
ddg ddg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 421707
ddg Reputation: 10
Default

I have the EVGA classified 760 and I am having the same problem. I am not sure what to do, but I am considering putting a fan on the exterior (ultra kraze pushing air in) and creating a rubber gasket on the interior where I will mount the rad. I will work with it tommorow and see what I can come up with. But I am having issures with this set up too.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 10-18-2009, 06:57 PM
ddg ddg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 421825
ddg Reputation: 10
Default

Well what I have done is mounted an ultra kraze on the outside pulling air in, and I have the rad. turned sideways on the inside. I used #6 thumb screws 1/2 inch long with lock washers to attach both units (also tightened with a driver). I did put the rubber silencer on the ultra kraze housing. I also mounted 3 120mm fans (1900 rpm's) on the top for pull fans. It looks like it is going to be a sweet set up. I need to wire all my fans to my controller tommorow and I will be installing windows 7 this week. I will let you guys know the temps. I also mounted my Asus 5870 on the second to the last slot and it fit perfectly. I had no aliment issues at all. I think the bottom fan will help with some extra cooling, and it is somewhat away from the temp's generated by the motherboard set up. I also have a corsair memory fan mounted on my 12gb's of memory. This is by far the best case I have ever had. I do think the H-50 will be an great cooling unit for my CPU. It is not that big of a problem, and it looks great.

Thanks corsair! You guys are awsome!

Last edited by ddg; 10-18-2009 at 07:00 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 11-06-2009, 06:21 AM
kgk kgk is offline
Registered User
kgk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 425151
kgk Reputation: 10
Default

Just wanted to let this thread know that another thread has been stickied for this:

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=81685

I've posted possible solutions that should help anyone experiencing this.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.