The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:15 AM
apmorgan apmorgan is offline
Registered User
apmorgan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 405685
apmorgan Reputation: 10
Default XMP profile enabled with 4GB but disabled when 8GB

with 4GB of memory (i have done this with both pairs of 4Gig) I can overclock with XMP/profile1, but when I configure with 8GB of memory, when I select XMP options to choose a profile our disabled.

Memtest runs clean on all 8GB of Ram.

Thanks for any help

Last edited by Wired; 06-24-2009 at 02:01 PM. Reason: removed specs; already in profile
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 06-24-2009, 02:01 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,998
POST ID # = 405725
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

I believe that's normal. XMP is for one pair, not 2.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 06-25-2009, 02:11 PM
Chiller's Avatar
Chiller Chiller is offline
Hybrid SR-2 building
Chiller's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belgium Europe
Posts: 138
POST ID # = 405848
Chiller Reputation: 10
Send a message via MSN to Chiller
Default

***********, also when installing 8gb is possible to get XMP.
But it is much better to set it manual, speed and timings.

Why it sometimes whont boot with 8gb XMP, because they need something more voltage with more ram modules installed.

it's like putting more lightbulps on one batterij, then they fade also
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:25 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 405903
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

What is the part number of the memory you are using and what is the make and model of MB?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 06-25-2009, 09:40 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,998
POST ID # = 405908
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

Both are in his profile.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:07 AM
apmorgan apmorgan is offline
Registered User
apmorgan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 405932
apmorgan Reputation: 10
Default

Asus Maximus Extreme Bios 1202, Qx9650 and TWIN3X40961600C7DHXIN.

So four slots of two gig each.

Since a bought the memory a year later, CPU-Z reports a different part no:
CM3X1024-1600C7DHX slots 1 and 3
CM3X2G-1600C7DHXIN slots 2 and 4

even though packaging is identical and part on packaging is:
TWIN3X40961600C7DHXIN

Right now I have some manual settings: CPU 3.2 (8x400) and DRAM DDR3-1600, not sure if stable yet, 1 crash in two days.


Here is Everlast Memory profile:

--------[ SPD ]---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[ DIMM1: Corsair XMS3 DHX CM3X1024-1600C7DHX ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name Corsair XMS3 DHX CM3X1024-1600C7DHX
Serial Number None
Module Size 2 GB (2 ranks, 8 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered DIMM
Memory Type DDR3 SDRAM
Memory Speed DDR3-1333 (667 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Error Detection Method None

Memory Timings:
@ 666 MHz 9-9-9-24 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 33-60-4-10-5-5 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 592 MHz 8-8-8-22 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 30-54-4-9-5-5 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 444 MHz 6-6-6-16 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 22-40-3-7-4-4 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)

Extreme Memory Profile:
Profile Name Enthusiast (Certified)
Memory Speed DDR3-1600 (800 MHz)
Voltage 1.90 V
@ 800 MHz 7-7-7-20 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 36-88-0-5-12-6-6 (RC-RFC-CR-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 685 MHz 6-6-6-18 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 31-76-0-5-11-6-6 (RC-RFC-CR-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)

Memory Module Features:
Auto Self Refresh Supported
Extended Temperature Range Supported
Extended Temperature Refresh Rate Not Supported
On-Die Thermal Sensor Readout Not Supported

Memory Module Manufacturer:
Company Name Corsair Memory, Inc.
Product Information http://www.corsairmemory.com/products/xms_home.aspx

[ DIMM2: [ TRIAL VERSION ] ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Serial Number None
Module Size 2 GB (2 ranks, 8 banks)
Module Type [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Memory Type DDR3 SDRAM
Memory Speed DDR3-1066 (533 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Error Detection Method None

Memory Timings:
@ 533 MHz 7-7-7-20 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 27-59-4-8-4-4 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 457 MHz 6-6-6-18 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 24-51-4-7-4-4 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)

Extreme Memory Profile:
Profile Name Enthusiast (Certified)
Memory Speed DDR3-1600 (800 MHz)
Voltage 1.90 V
@ 800 MHz 7-7-7-20 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 41-88-2-6-12-6-6 (RC-RFC-CR-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 685 MHz 6-6-6-18 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 35-76-2-6-11-6-6 (RC-RFC-CR-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)

Memory Module Features:
Auto Self Refresh Supported
Extended Temperature Range Supported
Extended Temperature Refresh Rate Not Supported
On-Die Thermal Sensor Readout Not Supported

Memory Module Manufacturer:
Company Name Corsair Memory, Inc.
Product Information http://www.corsairmemory.com/products/xms_home.aspx

[ DIMM3: [ TRIAL VERSION ] ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Serial Number None
Module Size 2 GB (2 ranks, 8 banks)
Module Type [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Memory Type DDR3 SDRAM
Memory Speed DDR3-1333 (667 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Error Detection Method None

Memory Timings:
@ 666 MHz 9-9-9-24 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 33-60-4-10-5-5 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 592 MHz 8-8-8-22 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 30-54-4-9-5-5 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 444 MHz 6-6-6-16 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 22-40-3-7-4-4 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)

Extreme Memory Profile:
Profile Name Enthusiast (Certified)
Memory Speed DDR3-1600 (800 MHz)
Voltage 1.90 V
@ 800 MHz 7-7-7-20 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 36-88-0-5-12-6-6 (RC-RFC-CR-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 685 MHz 6-6-6-18 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 31-76-0-5-11-6-6 (RC-RFC-CR-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)

Memory Module Features:
Auto Self Refresh Supported
Extended Temperature Range Supported
Extended Temperature Refresh Rate Not Supported
On-Die Thermal Sensor Readout Not Supported

Memory Module Manufacturer:
Company Name Corsair Memory, Inc.
Product Information http://www.corsairmemory.com/products/xms_home.aspx

[ DIMM4: [ TRIAL VERSION ] ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Serial Number None
Module Size 2 GB (2 ranks, 8 banks)
Module Type [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Memory Type DDR3 SDRAM
Memory Speed DDR3-1066 (533 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Error Detection Method None

Memory Timings:
@ 533 MHz 7-7-7-20 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 27-59-4-8-4-4 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 457 MHz 6-6-6-18 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 24-51-4-7-4-4 (RC-RFC-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)

Extreme Memory Profile:
Profile Name Enthusiast (Certified)
Memory Speed DDR3-1600 (800 MHz)
Voltage 1.90 V
@ 800 MHz 7-7-7-20 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 41-88-2-6-12-6-6 (RC-RFC-CR-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)
@ 685 MHz 6-6-6-18 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS) / 35-76-2-6-11-6-6 (RC-RFC-CR-RRD-WR-WTR-RTP)

Memory Module Features:
Auto Self Refresh Supported
Extended Temperature Range Supported
Extended Temperature Refresh Rate Not Supported
On-Die Thermal Sensor Readout Not Supported

Memory Module Manufacturer:
Company Name Corsair Memory, Inc.
Product Information http://www.corsairmemory.com/products/xms_home.aspx
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 06-26-2009, 09:40 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Corsair Tech Mktg
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,211
POST ID # = 405941
Yellowbeard Reputation: 45
Send a message via AIM to Yellowbeard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiller View Post
**********, also when installing 8gb is possible to get XMP.
Please watch your language, that is not at all necessary or appropriate here.

The official XMP standard from Intel does not include 4 modules. It can be done on some boards but not all which is apparent from this users results. It's dependent upon several factors including the MOBO BIOS.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter: XMSYELLOWBEARD

Make friends on Facebook: XMSYELLOWBEARD
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 06-26-2009, 12:55 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 405975
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

With 4 modules I would suggest setting the memory frequency at DDR1066 or DDR1333 and set the memory Voltage to 1.7-1.90 Volts and set the NB/MCH/SPP Voltage to +.05 Volts as well and test the system with www.memtest.org. In addition, with some MB's (Mostly ASUS) you have to disable legacy USB in the bios when running any memory test.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 06-26-2009, 02:05 PM
apmorgan apmorgan is offline
Registered User
apmorgan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 405984
apmorgan Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, but the orginal posting was about XMP profile disabled.
Should I be able to use XMP profiles with 4 sticks of 2GB RAM? and if yes do you think your Bios recommedations will affect whether option to choose XMP profile becomes enabled?

That doesn't seem likely to me, especially since system has been running pretty stable -- no Memtest errors and vista x64 has been running well, yet in Bios the option to choose a XMP profile is disabled.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 06-26-2009, 06:14 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 406031
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That is correct you will not be able to use XMP when mixing memory like that and would only be usable with one set.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.