The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/index.php)
-   Memory (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=198)
-   -   Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB not showing up in iCue (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/showthread.php?t=184223)

Chrisoman 01-05-2019 08:23 AM

Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB not showing up in iCue
 
Hello,
I recently bought a bunch of new PC parts (Everything is listed in my profile) including 2 Corsair Vengeance Pro RAM sticks. I recently tried to control the RGB of the RAM with the iCUE software, but it doesn't detect the RGB for some reason. I also went ahead and deinstalled Asus Aura, then deinstalled iCue, restarted and installed iCue again, hoping that that'd fix it, but no. I don't really know any other way to fix it, especially as I can't find "ESP Write" in my BIOs anywhere and I also can't find anyone with similar specs as I have (At least not yet). I hope someone can help me on here, because my friends and I are pretty much clueless at this point.

Edit: Forgot to mention that the RGB itself is working (Rainbow) but I can't configure it through the software as it isn't showing up

DevBiker 01-05-2019 10:11 AM

Did you update the BIOS? We've had LOTS of reports of the latest BIOS version for Asus AMD board causing these kinds of issues. You may want to revert to the previous BIOS version.

TBH, I'm not sure if the problem is on the Corsair side or the Asus side but I do know that Corsair is aware of the issue.

protonhead 01-05-2019 11:07 AM

Uninstall Corsair Link and check if Corsair Link 4 service gets uninstalled
 
I had the same problem. I fixed it by uninstalling iQue and Corsair Link first and then reinstalling iQue.

Corsair Link will cause multiple problems if you don't uninstall it before installing iQue.

This didn't solve the problem until I also deleted the "Corsair Link 4 Service" service. I have Windows 10 v1809, Gigabyte X299 Designare EX mb and Vengeance RGB.

For some reason the service did not get uninstalled. I had to disable it, reboot and use the command "sc delete CLink4Service". Check the name of the service from "Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services". Right click the service and select "properties" to get the short name to use in the "sc" command. You may not have the service after you uninstall Corsair Link.

I also deleted the "Corsair Link" directory from "C:\Program Files (x86)". After all of this, reboot and then install iQue.

Might help.

Chrisoman 01-05-2019 11:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DevBiker (Post 988376)
Did you update the BIOS? We've had LOTS of reports of the latest BIOS version for Asus AMD board causing these kinds of issues. You may want to revert to the previous BIOS version.

TBH, I'm not sure if the problem is on the Corsair side or the Asus side but I do know that Corsair is aware of the issue.

Yeah, I have the latest BIOs. I don't really like updating the BIOs though, because I'm always a little affraid that my motherboard will get brick'd. Do you maybe know anything about when they will update iCue? It's not like it'd be a super bad problem so if they'd do it in a month or so I'd prefer to let it stay this way and wait.

Chrisoman 01-05-2019 11:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by protonhead (Post 988382)
I had the same problem. I fixed it by uninstalling iQue and Corsair Link first and then reinstalling iQue.

Corsair Link will cause multiple problems if you don't uninstall it before installing iQue.

This didn't solve the problem until I also deleted the "Corsair Link 4 Service" service. I have Windows 10 v1809, Gigabyte X299 Designare EX mb and Vengeance RGB.

For some reason the service did not get uninstalled. I had to disable it, reboot and use the command "sc delete CLink4Service". Check the name of the service from "Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services". Right click the service and select "properties" to get the short name to use in the "sc" command. You may not have the service after you uninstall Corsair Link.

I also deleted the "Corsair Link" directory from "C:\Program Files (x86)". After all of this, reboot and then install iQue.

Might help.

I didn't try it with Link yet, as people recommended me to rather go with iCue

DevBiker 01-05-2019 11:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chrisoman (Post 988388)
Yeah, I have the latest BIOs. I don't really like updating the BIOs though, because I'm always a little affraid that my motherboard will get brick'd. Do you maybe know anything about when they will update iCue? It's not like it'd be a super bad problem so if they'd do it in a month or so I'd prefer to let it stay this way and wait.

iCUE is updated about every month (ish). When will this be fixed? I can't say - it will also depend on if the issue is on Corsair's side or Asus' side. And I'm not sure who "owns" this particular issue/bug - it's also possible that it's an issue with the AGESA update from AMD.

protonhead 01-05-2019 11:49 AM

Don't use LINK - use iQue, but make sure to COMPLETELY uninstall LINK first!!!

RiverM 01-05-2019 05:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chrisoman (Post 988388)
Yeah, I have the latest BIOs. I don't really like updating the BIOs though, because I'm always a little affraid that my motherboard will get brick'd. Do you maybe know anything about when they will update iCue? It's not like it'd be a super bad problem so if they'd do it in a month or so I'd prefer to let it stay this way and wait.

Which BIOS version do you have? I have the same motherboard and close RAM, 3000C15 model. The RAM RGB would not light up with the latest 4207 BIOS unless I first put the RAM into my B250 PC where it lights up fine and then transfer it to my X470 PC, where it will light up with the lighting profile in the B250 PC but is not shown in iCUE and cannot change the lighting profile. Eventually the RGB will go out after making BIOS adjustments and reboots.

However, the RAM RGB had full control and was seen in iCUE in my X470 PC when using BIOS version 4018 while keeping the latest 18.10.20.02 chipset drivers. Rolling back to BIOS 4018 brings back to AGESA 1002a, where AGESA 1006 entered in BIOS 4204.

TL:DR
-BIOS 4207 will offer improvements for memory configurations (AGESA 1006 support) among other system improvements, but likely won't show the RGB RAM in iCUE, thus no RGB control.

-BIOS 4018 (AGESA 1002a support) will offer full RGB RAM control.

SlowGTi 01-05-2019 06:59 PM

I am having the same exact problem except I have a Crosshair VI hero. I also just updated my bios today. should I try and roll back my bios or just wait and see if there is an update?

Chrisoman 01-06-2019 07:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RiverM (Post 988430)
Which BIOS version do you have? I have the same motherboard and close RAM, 3000C15 model. The RAM RGB would not light up with the latest 4207 BIOS unless I first put the RAM into my B250 PC where it lights up fine and then transfer it to my X470 PC, where it will light up with the lighting profile in the B250 PC but is not shown in iCUE and cannot change the lighting profile. Eventually the RGB will go out after making BIOS adjustments and reboots.

However, the RAM RGB had full control and was seen in iCUE in my X470 PC when using BIOS version 4018 while keeping the latest 18.10.20.02 chipset drivers. Rolling back to BIOS 4018 brings back to AGESA 1002a, where AGESA 1006 entered in BIOS 4204.

TL:DR
-BIOS 4207 will offer improvements for memory configurations (AGESA 1006 support) among other system improvements, but likely won't show the RGB RAM in iCUE, thus no RGB control.

-BIOS 4018 (AGESA 1002a support) will offer full RGB RAM control.

I currently have BIOs version 4204. Might try to change it to 4018 then, as I don't have any other PC where I can first configure it.

mattyboy11 01-06-2019 11:25 AM

Just to let Corsair and everybody know i have an Asus ROG CROSSHAIR VI EXTREME AM4 motherboard and i updated to the latest bios, that was when my troubles started not showing Corsair Vengeance Pro in ICUE at all so i changed back to the older asus bios for my board which was just 1 away from the newest one and its working perfectly again, so for me it was defo my motherboards bios update that was the problem but i do hope this problem is sorted as i want the latest motherboard bios.

as2007 01-06-2019 09:37 PM

I'm having the same issue, icue was working before I updated the BIOS and now no devices are detected.

voodoo486 01-08-2019 12:00 AM

All this RGB memory control is a mess. I still can't get mine to work as I want but this might help some of you. Disable all your BIOS changes. I mean revert to defaults. This allows Icue to see my memory. If I change anything related to CPU speed or even if I set my memory to it's correct speed, Icue wont detect the memory.

Dayspring 01-08-2019 11:48 AM

I'm having the same issue - I tried the Vengeance Pro RGB RAM in my ASUS X99 system. Two different BIOS, 3 different versions of iCUE - still not showing up. Doesn't show up in AURA either. And yes, SPD Write is enabled in BIOS.

Tried the same RAM in a completely different system (AMD B350 ASUS board) and it doesn't show up in iCUE there either.

There's something screwed up here.

Guillermo88 01-08-2019 05:48 PM

I have the same problem here open up a ticket a week ago and still hasn't been resolved. Im not sure if the issues is with asus or corsair downgrade the bios version 4024 and seem to work just fine but Version 4207 doesn't seem to like it I think we are just going to have to wait for a update.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.