The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/index.php)
-   Memory (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=198)
-   -   memory problem (http://www.asktheramguy.com/forums/showthread.php?t=155408)

mgeo 01-18-2016 07:28 AM

memory problem
 
Hello,

I have an i7 920 intel processor on a Asus P6T Deluxe motherboard with 3x2 Gb corsair dominator memory modules at 1600MHz (windows 7 ultimate). Recently I got a system crash (blue screen) and I found out that one of my memory modules does not work anymore so i removed it. Funny thing I noticed that on boot up the memory count now showed 4088 Mb and not 4096 Mb as it should (since i got left with 2x2Gb). Even in the windows task manager it shows 4088Mb, i.e 8 Mb less of what it should show!
I ran a memtest and it passed twice. I even ran 10 reps of Lin X and it passed.

I got new memory modules corsair vengeance 2x4Gb since 4Gb were not enough for me and again on boot up the memory count shows 8184Mb and not 8196Mb.

So with 2 different memory modules BIOS and windows task manager show 8Mb less!

Does anyone know why is this happening? Is it a motherboard or cpu problem?

Corsair Henry 01-19-2016 07:16 PM

Try isolating the memory modules one by and and load into BIOS to see if they are being detected properly. You can also rotate a single memory through the dimm slots. This will tell you if the slots are good or not.

Synthohol 01-19-2016 07:50 PM

is it reserving\dedicating ram for any on-board video?

mgeo 01-20-2016 05:04 AM

no there is no VGA card on board, it has a separate VGA card

mgeo 01-20-2016 05:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Corsair Henry (Post 832047)
Try isolating the memory modules one by and and load into BIOS to see if they are being detected properly. You can also rotate a single memory through the dimm slots. This will tell you if the slots are good or not.

I checked all 4 memory modules I have (2 old and 2 new) on every memory slot on board. Each time I placed only one memory module on board and checked the BIOS. It's surprising that every time it showed 8Mb less, i.e 2040Mb instead of 2048 Mb for each of my old modules and 4088 Mb instead of 4096 Mb for each of the new ones! I stress that I checked all available memory slots and every time I got 8Mb less for every mem module.

This means it's a motherboard issue?

Synthohol 01-20-2016 10:56 AM

found it in the FAQ for that MB.
https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/103641/
its normal aparrently.

mgeo 01-20-2016 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Synthohol (Post 832176)
found it in the FAQ for that MB.
https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/103641/
its normal aparrently.

thanks, you are right!

I ran LinX for 20 reps and the computer restarted! I checked LinX's log and there wasn't an error it went up to 16 reps and it just restarted. I am thinking it's a PSU problem. I should have it checked.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.